And When the Sky Was Opened

Back in 2013, I was impressed by the second album, The Next, from Mexican guitarist Antonio Freyre and his gathering of International musicians including bassist Mike  Poggionne (Vile, Monstrosity, Lecherous Nocturne) , drummer Timo Häkkinen (Sotajumala) and Phil Tougas of Zealotry/Vengeful/Chthe’ilist on guitars delivering a dizzying chaotic, Canadian take on death metal that imbued Cryptopsy. With the only change being Josh Smith (Monumental Torment) replacing Josh Hohenstein on vocals,  little has changed the style from The Next.

The vocal shift is negligible, as it’s just another generic but competent deep growler/screamer, but the core and highlight of the music is the twisty, techy, stop start, tight as fuck death metal. The Canadian influence is once again strong as the 8 song 35 minute run time isn’t about specific riffs or moments, and it’s not the nicer , twangy, fretless Canadian tech ala Beyond Creation, but more a 500lb gorilla having a seizure on a bed of broken glass. It’s a cleaner Gorguts meets Whisper Supremacy, bricks in a washing machine sound that’s punishing  but smart.

Single tracks don’t jump out but the more varied 7 plus minute title track (and an actual solos) , slower staggering “When the Ground Swallows Us”, more controlled lurch of “Them” or more progressive hues of closer “For Nothing” out shine the album’s early onslaught of controlled chaos (“And So it Begins”, “Solitude”, “Itami”). The production is punchy, but not too dirty or too polished.

2015 was a strong year for death metal and Serocs was bound to get overlooked, especially amid Comatose’s more immediate, broodle, slammy offerings. But if you want to go back a check out one of 2015s better death metal releases, do your self a favor and check out Serocs.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
January 5th, 2016


  1. Commented by: Ace Barker

    Derivative. Nothing to see here. *zips pants back up and leaves*

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu