Vore EP

Having been around since 2009 Death metal international group Serocs are to me one of most underrated Tech Death bands out there right now.  Vore features Laurent Bellemare on vocals who is also the vocalist for the band Sutrah that I reviewed earlier this year.  Serocs also features Kevin Paradis on drums also of Benighted and a plethora of other projects.  This group also features Antoine Daigneault of the group Chthe’ilist. Everlasting Spew continues to crush it with finding these unbelievable projects.  Vore is no exception.

The track “Anthropic” kicks things off with an unsettling build somewhere in between Cryptopsy and Spawn of Possession.  The fretboard work is all over the place with some well-placed melody that has that neo-classical feel mixed with excellent groove sections.  “Building a Shrine Upon Vanished Sands” sounds like it could have come off None So Vile.  This track features guest solos by Phil Tougas from also of Chthe’ilist and First Fragment.  His lead work is outstanding and would make Jon Levasseur drool.  Kevin Paradis is a frigging beast.  This and Benighted in the same year.  Jesus.

The third track, “Shadow Vaults” is a quick classical guitar piece with some synth overdubs that breaks things up a bit.  “To Self-Devour is my favorite track on this and has a different type of dissonance vibe that builds into a really unique groove that is really quite gorgeous in my opinion.  This track has a bit of Gorguts vibe to it.


The last two tracks are demo tracks from their 2011 demo.  It is interesting to hear the demo version of “Anthropic” to see the progression from where the song was in 2011 to where it is now in 2020.Everlasting Spew Records has not let me down yet and this is a really well done effort for an EP that should hopefully keep listeners pallet’s satisfied until a new full length is released.  Bravo, Serocs, Bravo!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
July 17th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP