Shipwreck AD

Celebrity record labels have the tendency to make me smile. Especially when high profile ‘rock,’ personas have set up these little profit centres to peddle soulless tripe far more banal then their own recorded output (I won’t point any direct fingers at anyone) and then see these ventures and their rosters dissipate into the long lost sea of forgotten artists. Thus, it’s refreshing as well as inspiring to see someone like Jake Bannon create a label that not only has genuinely good bands but manages to sustain longevity and remain through the torrent of forever changing musical climates.

Shipwreck AD are pretty much perfect fit for the Deathwish roster. Their dirty, pounding hardcore is soaked in a plethora of influences (much like label mates Pulling teeth) but they manage to deftly organize these into a seamless wall of sound that is as emotional as it is visceral. ‘Lotus,’ duly demonstrates this unison of contrasting elements, weaving slithery riffs that twist and turn into seismic chugs and then back again.

‘Thaw,’ is another example of this, as the withered ghost of the Holy Terror hardcore sound (Integrity, Ringworm) is duly reinvigorated with crusty, driving riffs but is then rounded out with a slim melodic pulse. ‘Ascent’ is pulled in by a Neurosian intro before giving way to more howling vocals and apocalyptic chugs. Closer ‘Zenith,’ is as creepy as it is crushing with yet more Neurosis style atmospheric riffing brushing comfortably with those Holy Terror tendencies. It’s a fine ender to a gratifying record, and whilst it’s not the album’s highpoint it shows that there are plenty of unexplored waters for the band to charter.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Benjamin DeBlasi
February 11th, 2008


  1. Commented by: BrutaLeviathan

    alright. I’m not too into hardcore (in fact I hate most of it), but this wasn’t too bad. Wonder why.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock