Revealed in Profane Majesty

The debut  2013 EP from this side project of UK doomsters, Eye of Solitude, was one of my favorite EPs of 2013 and I have been excited for a full length ever since it was announced and I have followed and lapped up every teaser of trailer since. And it was worth the wait as ‘Profane Splendour’ is a fitting title for an album of symphonic, blackened death metal majesty.

Continuing the sound of the EP, the sound is still a powerful mix of beefy mid era Behemoth mixed with the orchestral majesty of classic Dimmu Borgir, so those perturbed by a little pomp and theatrics in theier metal might not care for this. However, those that enjoy an little regality mixed in with their brutality, a la Fleshgod Apocalypse or Septicflesh, will find lots to like about Revealed in Profane Splendour.

The aptly named “Sacrilegious  Majesty” opens things up with a tribal pounding before exploding with a salvo on menacing bellows and downtuned tremolo blasts, setting the tempo for the rest of the album. It’s not rocket science or game changing, buts its an authoritative melding of styles that commands your attention with its pummeling death/black  metal and magisterial synths and choirs. And while the synths are not the focal point, they do deliver a pretty constant back drop of dramatic brass and strings that’s close to Fleshgod Apcalypse,  as heard on “Inexorable Revelation” or “Obscenity Ov Old”, which even has some kingly clean croons to add to the regal feel.

And in truth, all 7 tracks have a pretty similar M.O, with none really standing out, but all 7 being enjoyably bombastic, epic while retaining teeth, not being overly theatrical or pompous. The likes of “Annihilation ov Abhorrent Crescent” or “Infernal Reign” (with more clean vocals) are simply well executed and brutally orchestral, with the only down side being there isn’t an infernally ‘wow’ riff or song that keeps bringing me back, just this incessant orchestral bombastic death metal assault. And that’s perfectly fine when it’s done this well. The closing track, “O Paragon, Bringer of Light” comes close with a an initial mid paced approach and controlled militant march before the full on salvo continues.

The production is big and full and the vocals very robust with Isfeth having a beefy Nergal like presence to his commanding depth and clarity making this an impressive all around debut that shows this UK act is hopefully firmly entrenched in the genre for a while to come.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
October 24th, 2014


  1. Commented by: Gabaghoul

    definitely want to hear this

  2. Commented by: Juan Manuel Pinto

    Is “Annihilation ov Abhorrent Crescent” about Islam?

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain