Sinners Bleed

I had high hopes for this.  It was either because it was named after an Entombed song from Clandestine, or that drummer Eric Krebs is the drummer here, and he is in another German death metal band called Golem, who released one of the early 00s most underrated death metal albums, Dreamweaver. Unfortunately, I was let down on both counts as Absolution is a pretty standard, even bland modern death metal record.

There’s nothing wrong with Absolved . It stands astride blustery modern technical death metal (Suffocation comes to mind) and beefy European melodic death metal with a punchy modern production and the veteran members, all from other German acts, all deliver a solid performance.  However, when it all comes together the songs just never really stand out or deliver anything that stands out at all.

The technicality and brutal efficiency is typically German, vocalist Jan Geidner has a solid  Frank Mullen meets Mark Grewe-ish growl, and Grebs is a monster on drums, but I’ll be damned if I can’t recollect a single riff from the record. Nothing that makes me hit replay or even pick out  for this review. And I really tried.

So when I say the fervent blasting in “Behind the Veil” is tightly delivered or tumbling Suffocation-ish cadence of “Dawn of Infinity” is nicely savage, or penultimate “Obedience” is brutally polished, I’m really stretching to find something that stands out amid the blandly brutal (brutally bland?) by the numbers modern death metal. I really kept hoping for something, anything to just grab me, and boy the final track “Jesus’s Delusion Army”, came sooooo close. But ultimately Absolution is a forgetful, if well played album that wont register on 2019s slew of death metal releases.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 22nd, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ihsahn                      - Ihsahn                     
  • Red Vinter - We Built Our Own Death Machine (Demo)
  • Spiritual Deception - Semitae Mentis
  • Vincent Crowley - Anthology of Horror
  • Morbid Saint - Swallowed by Hell
  • Job For A Cowboy - Moon Healer
  • Stellar Remains - Wastelands EP
  • Acrid Death - Abominable Presence of Blight
  • Apparition - Fear the Apparition
  • Morta Skuld - Creation Undone
  • House of Atreus - Orations EP
  • Spectral Voice - Sparagmos
  • Hellman - Born, Suffering, Death
  • Blood Red Throne - Nonagon
  • Hulder - Verses In Oath