Six Foot Six
Six Foot Six

Is Kristoffer Göbel really tall? This is the second full length from his project called Six Foot Six and I am going to assume it is some sort of height reference. Perhaps he and I can tour sometime with my project the Five Foot Six Project (not a thing). This is the second album from the former Falconer frontman, who appeared on two full lengths for them, so it now matches the total with that power metal collective.

I’ll be forward. Falconer’s Sceptre of Deception is potentially my favorite power metal album of all time. I know he was not the songwriter for Falconer, so any expectations this could be in the same wheelhouse would be unfounded. However, when the first track, “Welcome To Your Nightmare” gets going, I think we might be in the same realm. A catchy call and response chorus is the heartbeat of the opening track and Göbel’s vocals are in fine form. It’s a jaunty tune which honestly wouldn’t be out of place on something Iced Earth may have written when Tim Owens was in the fold.

There’s some fist stomping, traditional metal and power metal tracks throughout the album’s runtime, such as the previously mentioned, but there’s also some radio rock mixed in, which makes for quite a juxtaposition (second only to the missionary). This is clear when the second track, “End of All” kicks in. While it is solid, that radio friendly verse and chorus made me wonder if this was the same album.

After “End of All,” the power metal comes back with “In God We Trust.” I get some Iced Earth vibes here, too and dig it, although not quite as much as the first power metal track, the opener. There’s an epic intro before breaking into a triumphant riff and solid lead. It includes a good chorus if you’re into potentially blasphemous, sarcastic shots against old Jeebus (if you read into that way as I did).

The longest track on display here is number 9, which is called “I Am Your King.” Is it power metal or radio rock? Honestly, it’s a little of both, perhaps more power metal in the vocal delivery and radio rock on the instrumental side. It also includes the heaviest part of the album about 4 minutes in, which precedes a quick lead section. Since it mixes the styles well, this track is definitely a standout.

The last track to mention, as well as the last one on the album, “Break The Wheel,” definitely has that radio rock vibe mentioned earlier. Once again, they do it well, but with the tracks being about 50/50 between power metal and radio rock, one begins to wonder if they should stick with one style and go balls to the wall (man).

To sum it up succinctly, I was very surprised by this album. In a good way. Sure, it’s a little jarring going from power metal to radio rock multiples times, but they do each style really well. However, if this album were only radio rock, I’d be out. The worst quality of this album is that the best tune is the first one, so as long as when one listens, they understand it doesn’t get better after the first one, they’ll find enjoyment. That’s not a slight, by the way, as this album is still quite good and well worth your time. I’m glad to see Kristoffer Göbel back!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by J Mays
December 10th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP