Morbid Revelations

So now France is finally joining the European masses like the Czech Republic (Brutally Deceased), Croatia, (Hezera), Italy (Undead Creep), Germany (Revel in Flesh), Poland (Ulcer), Greece (Wreckage) The Netherlands (Funeral Whore), Finland (Morbid Vomit) and even the US (Fatalist) getting in on the Boss HM2, Swedish death metal revival with the duo known as Skelethal.

A few months ago I got a digital promo from Iron Bonehead Records, Interstellar Knowledge of the Purple Entity, a 5 song vinyl only EP, the duo’s third official release. I never got around to reviewing it because I don’t feel reviewing digital files of a vinyl release does the release justice. However, a mere few months later, Pulverised drops this Morbid Revelations compilation containing said EP as well as the band’s Deathmanicvs Revelation EP and Morbid Ovation demo from 2012.

The result? 17 tracks including three covers and one radio appearance of Boss HM2 goodness, that really hearkens back to the classics like Nihilist and Carnage, with a more raw, primal sound and some tangible nods to the legendary albums of the style like Left Hand Path and Like an Ever Flowing Stream.

The guitar tone is spot on and not overdone or forced like some of the band’s peers (not that there is anything wrong with that), and the demo quality is pretty apparent, but it breathes some musky old miasma to the riffs, many of which will recognize. The songs start with the Interstellar Knowledge of the Purple Entity and go backwards, as does the sound quality, getting more raw and demo-mish as the compilation goes on. The 5 tracks that make the Interstellar Knowledge of the Purple Entity EP are the clear standouts with the “Left Hand Path” familiar keyboard nod of “Sabbatical Demonic Invocation” or the “Revel in Flesh” inspired “Slaughtered From Beyond”. A cover of Carnage‘s “Torn Apart” hammers the EP home gloriously.

The tracks from the Deathmanicvs Revelation EP and the Morbid Ovation demo are much more lo fi, but still enjoyable with a feral energy and truly old school musk. And the covers of Sepultura‘s “Show Me the Wrath” and Sacrilege‘s (The UK crust/doom act from the ’80s/’90s) “A Violation of Something Sacred” are certainly entertaining amid the fetid mid range filled, feedback drenched scrawls, gallops and blasts of “Macabre Oblivion” and “Putrefaction”. The release ends with a 12 minute live performance from Dead at JFKC Radio show, and it’s actually pretty good sounding.

This compilation along with the recent Festerday (…And Oceans before they were …And Oceans) compilation have been absolute joys to listen too these last few weeks as they represent a more honest and less polished or forced take on the sound I love so much. And I’m really looking forward to a full length album from these guys at some point down the road.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
May 26th, 2015


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness