Sloth Herder
Abandon Pop Sensibility EP

Sometimes a name just grabs you, and Maryland’s Sloth Herder is one such name. And on their Second self-released EP, the music is often as interesting as the band name.

With a name like Sloth Herder, you would expect a massive crawling, doom/sludge outfit, but that could not be further from the truth. At only 14 minutes, Abandon Pop Sensibility EP is a short, sharp release of grind/black metal/crust, that would be at home on Southern Lord Records. It’s raw and virile but also vibrant with a slight experimental sneer running under the caustic riffs and psychotic black metal croaks. Imagine early The Red Chord, Infernal Stronghold, colliding with Cough or some of the other doom/black acts (Coffinworm, Highgate, Wolvehmmer, Lord Mantis?) and throw in a whole ton of punky pissed off attitude and reverb-filled nastiness and you get some idea of Sloth Herder‘s filthy concoction.

The only downside is that the EP is over in 14 minutes as the 6 tracks and one intro all blaze by in a fetid ooze or feral dog fight before you know it. After a lurching 2-minute intro, “Cowards of the New Age” reveals the band’s teeth with a rattling, discordant, muddy grind ‘n’ blast (“Bleached”) and sickly groove. From there songs really sort of blend into this noisy, caustic mix of blackened grooves punctuated with surly grindcore and even a few moments of odd, experimental bass lines and brief moments of brooding atmospherics (vast 3-minute cuts, “Relapse/Reward” and “Dug Up”).

Abandon All Pop Sensibility really is a quite unique and interesting release, even if it all blows by in a whir that you could feasibly miss if you blinked.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 23rd, 2013


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu