Fifteen years and nine albums in, Suidakra’s Crogacht is not only exactly what you would expect form the band but an inviting return to their earlier sound. The past few albums had some missteps (2005’s Command to Charge comes to mind) but 2006’s Caledonia showed the band coming around. What is displayed on 2009’s Crogacht is more primitive and archaic like the most of their earlier albums (Signs for the Fallen, Emprise to Avalon, The Arcanum, ect…) and preserves their sound as one of the more notable in the genre.

Crogacht (meaning bravery) is a concept album instilled with Irish mythology surrounding a legendary tale of Cuchulainn’s epic journey to the Isle of Skye where he seeks to learn the arts of war. War, being the main theme of the bands music and art is presented in a rousing and epic fashion which always gives me goose bumps. “Conlaoch” slams in with thunderous drums, heroic chords, and bagpipes which give a great sense of what is in store. Most of the songs on Crogacht have a build up effect to them before the battle begins.

“Isle of Skye” is my personal favorite with nasty blasts, a great raspy cry from lead man Arkadius screaming “Isle of Skye,” and classic Irish chants with acoustic strumming in the break section. The intensity only mounds thicker throughout the CD with only one break for a more traditional folk song with female vocalist Tina Stabel on “Feats of War.” One thing I have learned over the years with Suidakra is that Irish folk music is catchy as hell. “Feats of War” will have you singing along and stomping your feet.

The only downfall to Crogacht is the fact that nothing sticks or sets itself apart from previous albums. To a fan like me that’s just fine and dandy because, that’s Suidakra. I really don’t want a change. As long as these guys keep kicking as much ass as they have been over the years I’m perfectly content. This band doesn’t cover new territory, but they do one hell of a job at creating a dark, war-like landscape. Melodic death metal fans and black metal fans alike can find home in Crogacht, and if you like your extreme metal powerful and intense, this is it.

Longtime guitar player and vocalist Marcel Schoenen left the band to focus more on his job. Apparently he wasn’t much for touring anyway. As much of a surprise as this was for me (the guy is way fucking talented) Suidakra are now a three piece touring in the states and moving forward as they climb the ladder and become leaders in the genre. This band rivals Ensiferum in my humble opinion and they have been deserving attention for quite sometime. It’s all here folks, razor sharp guitars, folky harmonies, clear extreme vocals, and some of the best drumming you will hear in the genre, all cut with a dark edge. Check this out as well as the rest of their catalogue and see what mysteries metal has been hiding.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shane Wolfensberger
February 13th, 2009


  1. Commented by: axiom

    Sounds great, I’ve never heard them.

  2. Commented by: Erik Thomas

    I cant wait to see thse guys in march-i hope they have a bagpipe player

  3. Commented by: Shane

    Wanto to see them badly as well. I am wondering how they are pulling this off live with three guys. We will see.

  4. Commented by: ceno

    This album is growing on me. I might even like it more than Caledonia with time.

  5. Commented by: stiffy

    Which is it Ceno? Stop fucking around. :)
    I do agree that there are stand out tracks on Caledonia. This one not so much. Kind of all sounds the same after a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu