Svarti Loghin
Empty World

While you don’t have to be depressed to enjoy depressive black metal, there’s probably only so much Walknut and Ruins of Beverast-style grimness you can take. That’s why a band like Svarti Loghin is a nice find. Like Drudkh, Alcest or Agalloch, they bring a warmer, more pleasantly wistful sound to the black metal experience without losing any authenticity in the process.

Starting with “Karg Nordisk Vinter” and follow-up “Inner Desolation,” this Swedish band is a spot-on example of the sub-genre. Riffs are simple enough to invite reverie, but compositions offer enough variety to keep things interesting as well. Tortured vocals are perfectly buried in the mix. And drums strike that perfect balance between urgency and understatement. So far, so good… but then the title track hits.

Simply put, this is what happy black metal might sound like. Happy country-western black metal. It’s not quite Kenny Chesney, but these are melodies you just never hear with buzzsaw guitars and pained yowling. It’s a WTF moment on par with last year’s Vikings-Go-to-the-Caribbean number from Equilibrium‘s Sagas. And while that song came off like an amusing misstep, this one is just… wrong. Wrong like melting cheese over Chinese food, or like masturbating to a picture of Ann Coulter. Shit like this just shouldn’t happen, and yet, it’s perversely fascinating.

The rest of the album moves back into appropriately bleak territory, although the compositions aren’t quite as varied as the opener. That’s okay, because all in all, this is a very solid depressive black metal album. It’s certainly one I’ll come back to based on its merits alone, and also just to hear that bizarre title track again.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jordan Itkowitz
February 19th, 2009


  1. Commented by: Svarti Loghin – Drifting Through the Void « Teeth of the Divine

    […] reading the review of Svarti Loghin’s debut, Empty World by our very own Jordan Itkowitz, I avoided this Swedish group after seeing words like “happy […]

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Algebra - Pulse?
  • Deivos - Casus Belli
  • Fleshcrawl - Into the Catacombs of Flesh
  • Fluids - Exploitative Practices
  • Astaroth Incarnate - Ascendance EP
  • Revel In Flesh - Hour of The Avenger
  • Tales of the Tomb - Volume Two: Mendacium EP
  • Northwind Wolves - Mountains and Darkness
  • Immanifest - Macrobial
  • Obsequiae - The Palms of Sorrowed Kings
  • Opeth - In Cauda Venenum
  • Bethledeign - Iconography of Suffering
  • Day Of Doom - Epitaph of the Darklord
  • Ungfell - Tôtbringære
  • 5Rand - Dark Mother