Endless Spiritual Embodiment

Sxuperion is the side (main?) project of Valdur’s Lord Sxuperion , (aka Matthew Schott), and has a pretty large back catalog of releases under this moniker, including 4 albums, with this one being the fourth, but my first exposure to the project.

Whereas some side projects (again, I’m not sure which is main vs side here based on timed formed and discography) tend to be an artist’s outlet for something different to their other projects, but on this 7 song, 34 minute offering, one just has to look at Valdur’s offerings (i.e 2017s Divine Cessation or 2018s Goat of Iniquityfor a glimpse as to the sound heard on Endless Spiritual Embodiment. Oppressive, claustrophobic blackened death metal, though here it does appear to lean a bit more towards death metal.

And when I say death metal, I mean the cavernous, murky, miasmal kind of  icky death metal. Think Incantation, Miserist, Phrenelith, Golgothan Remains, etc dragged through a cosmic void between heaven and hell. It’s got those distant cavernous howls and growls and a guitar tone from the bowls of hell. There  are a few moments of swirling atmospherics that break up or lead into tracks (including a really jarring transition that explodes into “Infinite Ethereal Vault”), but for the most part, it’s a relentless tumble of blasting murk.

Case and point, the first 3 tracks “Sacred Chamber of Enlightenment” (other than a mid song lope), “Phallic Point of Periapsis” and “Negative Interior Intersection” are a nauseating caustic trio before fourth track “Supposition Course” we get a bit a respite in the song’s early stages. Then it’s back to the ritualistic vortex of “Infinite Ethereal Vault”. 10 minute closer “Endless  Embodiment” is the album’s most varied track, that could be a Valdur track , as it feels a little ‘blacker’ at times and almost feel a little like it was part of a different writing or recording session? But that could be just me.

Either way, if Hell had an elevator- this would be the music playing in it.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 23rd, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP