Seen Between the Lines (DVD)

Testament’s Seen Between the Lines DVD is basically a 1:1 copy of their 1991 VHS carrying the same name. Featuring a few chosen live cuts from the Souls of Black –era, a bunch of music videos, interviews and extra footage of the band goofing around in Tokyo. There’s some hour and a half worth of material, some of which is funny, some of which we could have probably lived without.

While the DVD menu is quite nice (compared to some of the other Metal DVDs), that’s not the case with the video quality, as it’s pure VHS all the way. As an added bonus, you can choose between the original or the re-mastered soundtrack, but they’re basically the same (read: quite muddy on the live tracks). There’s also an added biography/discography and image section. All in all, basic stuff, which leaves most of the hifi-wankers out there cold.

For people who missed out on the video ‘back in the day’, this is a nice blast from the past and gives us the chance to correct our mistakes. However, perhaps it would have been better off as a bonus DVD for their next album, kind of like what Armored Saint did with on their Revelation album (which gave us the “A Trip thru Red Times” –video). I’m still hoping they’d churn out a proper, quality driven DVD of them thrashing it live and featuring a proper “video” documentary of the band’s endeavors of the recent years, instead of a briefly written document you read from the screen.

A nice thing for all the Testament fans, but nothing crucial for the rest of the world.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Mikko K.
March 8th, 2005


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Lutharo - Hiraeth
  • Flotsam and Jetsam - Blood In The Water
  • Employed to Serve - Conquering
  • Runespell - Verses In Regicide
  • Iron Maiden - Senjustsu
  • Winter Nights - Sky Burial EP
  • Wraith - Undo the Chains
  • The Night Flight Orchestra - Aeromantic II
  • Pessimist - Cult of the Initiated/Blood for the Gods/Slaughtering the Faithful (Reissues)
  • Wormwood - Arkivet
  • Slaughter To Prevail - Kostolom
  • Beyond Grace - Our Kingdom Undone
  • Black Mass - Feast at the Forbidden Tree
  • Necronautical - Slain in the Spirit
  • Carcass - Torn Arteries