The Beyond

I had high hopes for an album named Frostbitepanzerfuck, but alas, the debut full-length from this Pennsylvania quartet is a maddeningly inconsistent release that sputters between sleazy blackened thrash and punky, sorta Autopsy-ish, crusty metal, and neither is really that well done. And while the band obviously has their tongue in cheek with the album title, cover and song titles like “Rotocunt”, and “Goat Sodomizer”, I didn’t find any of it really that humorous or amusing. So they miss both musically and lyrically.

When the band goes for a little more blacker sound like “Goat Sodomizer”, it’s a little more listenable, as the punk crust numbers like the opener “Rotocunt” are downright awful. And it seems they alternate from song to song throughout this still too long 28-minute release. The title track is a decent analog, crusty, black blast, as is “The Splatter House Maniacs”, and “Exterminate Humanity” is an OK crawling death metal number. But the songs in between “Attack of the Zombie Brigade” and “Necro Overload” are blackened skate punk. And as the music alternates, vocalist Danny Starkiller alternates from a decent black death rasps and growls to this awful skate punk rock sneer that makes my teeth grate. On a small positive side, I really liked the earthy, bassy production that throbs and bristles with a great analog, Chicago-ish hum.

A cover of GG Allin‘s “Cunt Sucking Cannibal” fits right in line with the album’s themes and music, so how you view Allin’s music might validate how you view Frostbitepanzerfuck. Me? I could do without this release. But I’m pretty sure the band does not give a fuck.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 14th, 2013


  1. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    man, Goat Sodomizer is awesome…

  2. Commented by: Appollyonx

    This album is crap. Good review, though.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain
  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide