The Rotted
Get Dead Or Die Trying

When a band changes their name, it’s usually for the worse-usually a shift in style to be more acceptable, commercial or just downright not metal (see Covenant, Cemetery, … And Oceans, etc). However, the UK’s Gorerotted, after 3 fairly mediocre, stylistically undecided albums, decided to start anew and change their name to The Rotted. The also they replaced guitarist Matt “Robin Pants” with John (Gian) Pyres (Cradle of Filth, Solstice, Extreme Noise Terror, etc) and switched out drummers. The end result is a definite positive and The Rotted now have become a far more credible and beneficial act to the UK metal scene.

With a nasty, far more classic grindcore, crust and punk lean than their previous offerings and less forced gore or humor themes, The Rotted sound nothing like their prior iteration and now carry a more Napalm Death, Righteous Pigs and Misery Index styled grind with slicing power chords and a savage catchiness that elevates the band far into the UK’s metal hierarchy. The visceral tone and pace of the album is pretty relentless for its 38-minute duration (except for interlude “A Brief Moment of Regret” and the closing cover track, but more on that later), and each song has enough memorable bite to warrant multiple listens.

Tracks like blistering opener “Nothing But A Nosebleed”, crafty restraint of “A Return to Insolence”, “Kissing You With My Fists”, “Angel of Meth”, superbly named “It’s Like There’s a Party in My Mouth (and Everyone’s Being Sick)”, and absolutely ferocious penultimate track “Fear and Loathing in Old London Town” deliver sneering, short sharps stabs of power chord, sometimes thrash infused, grittily produced mayhem that’s a fetid, filthy and deadly as the back streets of Whitechapel in the late 1800s.

Also of note, at least for me, is the band’s foreboding take on the 28 Days Later soundtrack, (specifically John Murphy’s brilliantly tense “In the House-In a Heartbeat” theme), an English band covering an iconic English movie theme seems fitting and I haven’t heard an effective movie to metal translation since Thy Disease rendered ‘Last of the Mohicans’; Superb, even more so if you are a fan of the film and its soundtrack.

Should Napalm Death call it quits ay time soon, it looks like a suitable, and more importantly English heir apparent is waiting in the wings.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 3rd, 2008


  1. Commented by: SludgeHammer

    Great review of a good album, though describing Mutilated in Minutes as “mediocre” seems a little harsh. Corpse-fucking Art is a masterpiece of modern death-grind, and the rest of the album is almost as good. Only Tools and Corpses is pretty good too.

  2. Commented by: swampthang

    eh their enjoyable mediocre albums. ya know what the vocals kinda come off a bit metalcorish but its a good disc and very memorable.

  3. Commented by: Jobby

    Wow. Big raps for this one. I’m keen as hell to check it out. The previous albums were just a bit … meh.

  4. Commented by: drew

    i agree with this review. recently i saw one that kind of trashed the album – i think its quite good, actually.

  5. Commented by: Jobby

    Wow – this was a really surprising album. They took a massive turn for the better. It’s so much more … ‘mature’ seems the wrong word given the lyrical content, but musically it’s streets ahead of what they’ve been doing up until now.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness