This Day Will Tell
Too Good to be True

Lately it seems post-hardcore music is on the rise or I mean alternative music. This is music that requires no talent and no skill to play, music that is just their so teenager’s can feel hard and different from the norm. Music…well this isn’t music, this is an abomination. I really hate when people call some scene band post-hardcore or screamo because in all honesty whatever is being played is neither genre. Mostly nowadays those two genres are associated with the Christian lets-do-this-for-god-bullshit that is sweeping the nation. This is mainstream alternative garbage plain and simple.

So here we are with a new release from the newly Indianola signed band This Day Will Tell. Just so you know…it’s awful, but to be fair let’s review this steaming pile of poop. So throw on your latest v-neck and crank up the gospel because here we go.

From the girly-esque vocals to the wannabe hard as fuck riffs this flamboyant band devours everything in sight. This is an attack akin to little girl breaking up with her boyfriend; it’s pretty nasty. Opener “Sweet Dreams, Meet You There” starts with a scream reminiscent of older The Devil Wears Prada. The riffs during a few parts sound good but then any ounce of cool is quickly shot down by a lame clean chorus. In fact there are a lot of riffs on this album that sound really good. It’s just there is no substance on this album; everything is built around the “Let’s Make Money” attitude. They even do a cover of a T.I. song called “Whatever You Like.” Words cannot describe how awful it is to hear that half way through an already horrible album. Imagine if the Backstreet Boys covered The Devil Wears Prada at a Christian fashion show. Lame, boring and it’s probably being held at a church with free cookies and kool-aid.

Eventually the album comes to an end in the form of “Making Love Is Easier Done Then Said.” Opening with a click that I thought was a gun but no it’s not. It came from a phone that he was picking up. It hurts to say this but the song is about a girl and text messages.

The whole album contains cliché lyrics and stupid song titles. For kids these days that eat this garbage up, well here is another turd to devour. I on the other hand am going to blast the new Micawber album and forget this band ever existed.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jesse Wolf
December 8th, 2010


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu