Scent of a Dream

This self-released, very professional, well presented and produced effort from this Belgian five piece is a pleasant surprise amid reviewing my 678th metalcore EP. Plying a form of atmospheric, mid paced, vaguely pagan/folk black metal, Thurisaz sound very “Scandinavian” with their tinkling synths, melodic guitars and pagan hues. If you slowed Skyfire or Wintersun slowed down or gave Ensiferum some valium and took their chain mail away, you might get an idea of Thurisaz’s sound.Solid, unpretentious and non elite stuff this, just good enjoyable atmospheric black metal. Growls, screams and acceptable clean vocals litter these 6 lengthy tracks that while not pagan in lyrical approach, have a misty forest and dusky ancient feel to them. Opener “A Timeless Flame” opens in standard epic fashion and the songs pleasant mid section is relaxingly grandiose. The bouncy, very “Finnish” title track is upbeat in stark contrast to the somber, morose start of “Years of Silence,” an almost doom sort of song which high lights Peter Theuwen’s clean vocal, which though are in need of work, do the job within the confine of the song’s sullen acoustic/flute/piano ambience. “When Images are Fading” and “Anno Viroviacum” pick up the album’s black metal malevolence with a bit more emphasis on the deep growls and even some blast beats amid the synth heavy gallop, but Thurisaz still retain their sense of melodic atmospherics.

Closer “Endless” is a bit wishy washy for me, even on an atmospheric black metal album, but that doesn’t make this album any less enjoyable. And that maybe its ultimate downfall; Scent of A Dream is almost too nice of an album. It won’t appeal to black metal die hards, it isn’t quite Viking enough for the metal warriors and the atmospherics are slightly tempered.

For what is essentially a demo though, Thurisaz show tons of professionalism and promise for the future. A great fit on Napalm Records I reckon.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 8th, 2005


  1. Commented by: baby

    Nice website!!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP