Thy Majestie

Though hailing from Italy, Thy Majestie have less in common with fellow countrymen Rhapsody than most (present company included) might immediately presume. However, upon hearing the Sicilian sextet firsthand many will likely draw comparisons from other regions of the world, Sweden in particular. Sharing much stylistically with the Swedish power metal scene, Thy Majestie sits comfortably somewhere between Axenstar and Dragonland, if not a more symphonic and less epic representation of each, respectively. Their fourth full-length and first on the young Dutch Dark Balance imprint, Dawn is a well written and dynamic offering that should appeal to all power metal fans, no matter which brand you generally prefer.

Divided into three chapters, it would appear that Dawn is a concept album of sorts, however, without any liner notes or lyrics it’s near impossible to determine exactly what the plot of the story being told is. Given that past releases have delved heavily into historical events rather than fantasy, it’s safe to assume that this outing would follow in suit. From what I’ve gathered I could elevate toward a handful of different scenarios but in the end I’d still probably be way off, so I’ll spare you my speculation.

With twelve remarkable tracks spread over fifty-plus minutes, finding the one song that stands out among the others is a daunting task, as nearly every second of Dawn is competently and passionately performed. Each track boasts a well balanced mix of mid to up-tempo pacing with a heavy emphasis on melodies that are as technical as they are memorable. Some may argue that the five part centerpiece “The Legacy Suite” as a whole is the album’s crowning achievement, and while I won’t dismiss its significance, I feel it’s too short in length to warrant the multi track treatment when it could have just as easily been one fifteen minute song. Other than that single inconsequential grievance there is nothing negative that I could possibly say about this album.

While I was previously unfamiliar with Thy Majestie, Dawn has impressed me enough to ensure a trek through the band’s back catalogue, sooner than later. What I initially assumed would be a generic Rhapsody knockoff surprisingly turned out to be nothing less than top tier power metal with the occasional progressive accent. If you enjoy the aforementioned Axenstar and Dragonland as well as acts such as Nocturnal Rites, Dark Moor, Crystal Eyes, and Kamelot, I’d strongly recommend adding Dawn to your album collection as it possesses all of the genres finest qualities and very few of its faults.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Harley Carlson
November 30th, 2008


  1. Commented by: Cynicgods

    Hey Harley! Is this your first review, man?
    If so, congrats! I like these guys and you did an awesome job describing them. Keep up the good work.

  2. Commented by: Facial La Fleur

    Well, this and the Behemoth reviews are my first for this site but I’ve written much in the past for other places.

  3. Commented by: ceno

    Intrigued by this review I’ve given a listen to this album. These guys have indeed reminded me of Dragonland, Dark Moor, and Kamelot, as well as Axenstar to a lesser extent. I also heard some moments that are close to the bands like Steel Attack and Anubis Gate. Can’t say that I’m blown away yet but it’s definitely interested me enough to spend more time with it.

  4. Commented by: Shawn Pelata

    Looking forward to hearing this one…nice review man…

  5. Commented by: Cynicgods

    Harley? Where did you write earlier? You seem like a reviewer I can trust from this and what I saw on the Behemoth review.

  6. Commented by: Facial La Fleur

    I wrote for MetalReview for awhile but due to personal life stuff I had to come and go a few too many times until they finally wouldn’t have me back. Before that I wrote for a site called Metal Coven but didn’t care for a lot of the people there so I left. Now I’m here and even though I’m new I feel a really good team chemistry.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu