To The Lions
Baptism of Fire

With former members of Confine, Grade, and SeventyEightDays, you’d expect Ontario’s To The Lions to be a well oiled, conviction fueled hardcore machine, and you’d be right.

Mostly mid tempo, chunky, fluff free, passionate urgent hardcore rooted on the early 90’s scene (i.e. Integrity, Earth Crisis, Ringworm, Bloodlet, Turmoil) is the forte of To The Lions and they do it well, but with little or no originality or defining character. The 10 no-nonsense tracks rumble and churn with aplomb and intensity (“Nightmare Begins”, “Armor of God”) but nothing that really sets it apart from the heap of other hardcore I have in my review stack (Barcode, The Fire The Flood, Protestant, Seventh Star, Daymares, The Dead See, A Perfect Murder, Achilles, The Destro, etc).

The production is expectedly stout, and you get a genuine sense of love for the genre as opposed to money grubbing or trend hopping and seems far more honest and less commercially aware, self promoting and fashionable than the likes of Hatebreed, Terror, Bury Your Dead or Throwdown. The ‘breakdowns’ aren’t telegraphed and synchronized but a more organic and almost improvised injections to the already stern songs. Heck there’s even a solo/melody here and there (“Ten/Fifteen”, “The Forsaken”) to throw in a little surprise to the mix.

Still, this is a solid hardcore record from what seems like a pretty dedicated and passionate band that is more concerned with their music than their myspace page.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 6th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu