Trap Them
Seizures in Barren Praise

Seriously people, its about time we start talking about New Hampshire’s Trap Them as one of the US’s best kept metal secrets, as with their second full length album, the band has once again delivered a sonic donkey punch that mixes crusty chaos and hardcore (think Converge), Rotten Sound and the midrange pummeling of Wolverine Blues era Entombed.

Featuring Brian Izzi of US underrated black metal pioneers December Wolves (Completely Dehumanized remains a landmark album for me) and Ryan McKenney of hardcore stalwarts Backstabbers Inc, Trap Them, in their short but productive career (2 albums, 3 splits/Eps) have evolved into a simply punishing act that has evolved from their more crust and grindcore roots to a more developed and restrained act with a truly potent sound and delivery.

Continuing the “days” (though out of sequence) from their prior releases, Barren Praise tells ten fictional tales of the town Barren Praise and delivers them in mostly short bursts of crusty, virulent fury (“Day Twenty Eight: Targets”, “Day Twenty Nine: Reincarnation Of Lost Lones”, “Day Twenty Five: Guignol Serene”, blistering “Day Twenty Three: Invertopia/Day Thirty: Class Warmth” and “Day Twenty One: Roam/Day Twenty Two: Absent Civilian”) and moments of grooving, utterly pummeling lurches (“Day Nineteen: Fucking Viva”, mid section of “Day Twenty Six: Angles Anonymous In Transit”, “Day Twenty: Flesh & Below”, “Day Twenty Four: Gutterbomb Heaven On The Grid” and heaving, seven-minute closer “Day Thirtyone: Mission Convincers”), which cement the Entombed reference. Both styles rendered with a face ripping Kurt Ballou sound that comes across like Mieszko Talarczyk’s best work sent through Sunlight Studios, a gravel filter and 5 vials of meth. It reeks of the kind of energy, ferocity and mix of styles that The Red Chord once had on Fused Together in Revolving Doors.

I’m really glad Deathwish Inc. picked this band up and has released 2 efforts, though both leave me craving more. This is an American band kids and the media should be paying attention to rather than pandering to the likes of Job For a Cowboy and Suicide Silence and other such wigger metal bands.

Support real American noise-get this

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 16th, 2008


  1. Commented by: David

    Excellent, spot-on review. Glad to hear someone else besides me realizes that Trap Them are awesome and need to be noticed.

  2. Commented by: Stiffy

    This is a loud fucking album

  3. Commented by: sandwiches

    this band is fucking awesome

  4. Commented by: Cynicgods

    Ooooooo dude from December Wolves in this. Had heard the name, but didn’t know Trap Them had Izzi in their ranks. Checking them out ASAP. Thanks, Erik!

  5. Commented by: SludgeHammer

    Great band, the Barren Praise concept makes me think of what Twin Peaks would be like if all that hidden resentment came spewing out at once. Which is quite a scary concept in itself.

  6. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    picked this up yesterday based on this review. fucking nasty shit. love it. kind of reminds me of Converge with Wes Eisold from American Nightmare on vocals.

  7. Commented by: fightingmike

    Fuck Yeah, i love this record and this review is spot on. I really want to see these guys live. The riffs and vocals on here are just completely ripping!!!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu