Tsjuder is back with their brand of uncompromising black metal, their 2nd release since returning from a brief hiatus and they continue to keep the pace and to rise within the ranks of the black metal elite with this release. Tsjuder started out slowly for me, the 1st release I heard from them being Kill For Satan, I was pleased and considered them okay but nothing mind blowing. Step by step with each release they slowly clawed their way into my eardrums and with Desert Northern Hell, I was like “Holy Crap!” now we are talking! Needless to say I was a fan.

I was bummed when they announced that Tsjuder was being put on hold but when they decided to return and release Legion Helvete AND play the Maryland Deathfest in 2012 , I was on cloud nine. Legion Helvete did not disappoint and they simply blew me away live at the deathfest. So with eagerness I awaited this, their next release and I try for the most part not to let my own hype and eagerness cloud my judgment or to set expectations too high. Also, just to get this out of the way, the artist in me just loves the cover artwork, The color palette and imagery it suits the album perfectly.

With Antiliv, I feel they continue to maintain the ferocity and energy of prior releases, albeit scaled back a little and with this slight restraint if you will, they expand the sound a bit, so as not to be a pure blast fest. The album contains more mid-paced numbers that convey a different level of darkness and evil. “Kaos” kick off the album and you realize that this trio from Norway still got the fire within after all these years. Vocalist Nag spitting forth the lyrics with vitriol and guitarist Draugluin matching the ferocity.

Next song “Krater” shows a bit of the aforementioned different pacing, again listen to Draugluin’s guitar playing, showing restraint and feeling but then mid way through the song, it picks up pace. Just love the shouted title Krater!, Krater! such energy, this would be just amazing live. Drummer AntiChristian makes his mark here and listen for his moment within the song as well. To me the song “Djevelens Mesterverk” is the pinnacle of the CD, pure blackened thrashing speed at its finest. I feel this songs alone puts Tsjuder at level with Marduk, Dark Funeral, in it’s fierceness and attack. Listen to how the song varies in intensity something you cannot dismiss.

The album starts of really strong and fast but seems mid-way to taper off, containing more of the moodier, less intense songs. I hear brief moments of the 1st wave of black metal in the guitar riffing, you really get a sense of the old school. In that frame of mind, the production is also slightly old school.(which is a good thing) It’s still modern but it just doesn’t have that big over produced sound that some albums from Dimmu Borgir for example tend to have. It has a harshness in the mix that suits them and their sound.

So another great submission from Tsjuder, who continue to vary their output without straying too far from their roots. So all fans of Marduk, Mayhem, Immortal, go grab this. I’ve seen the physical release online at Season of Mist webstore and the digipack comes with lots of extras. Time for a trip to the local record store for me.



[Visit the band's website]
Written by Will 'Bones' Lee
November 16th, 2015


  1. Commented by: gabaghoul

    been playing this too, it doesn’t break any new ground but good to hear this style every once in awhile and these guys do it right

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness