Above Lords, Below Earth

Sweden’s Turbocharged have been around for a while now, with 4 albums and various other releases to their name. However, this is my first time hearing them, which is odd as I typically seek out anything with a HM 2 Swedish death metal guitar tone, but I missed these guys somehow.

But this isn’t your standard Swedish early Entombed, Dismember mimicking death metal (not that there is anything wrong with that), but a punky, thrashy, d beat, death ‘n’ roll style that’s fun as shit, even if a little repetitive as the album hits it latter stages. The guitar tone has that classic HM 2 buzz saw sound, but the riffs are more rooted in say Entombed’s Wolverine Blues and beyond era, or Wolfbrigade or The Generals with a little more boozy, sneering, The Crown-ish uptempo thrash/crust energy.

Ronnie “Ripper” Olson has a throaty LG Petrov-ish shout, the bass has a perfect rumble, and the solos squeal with aplomb and the overall music itself is indeed ‘Turbocharged’, largely fast and hard with a few moments of grooving heft (i.e “Black Tornado”). The 12 song , 35 minutes is brusque and no frills, with each song often getting right to it. Opener “The Crawling Path of Worms” is a perfect intro to the band’s sound followed by the careening “Total Doom Arise”, a rollicking number that gave me The Crown vibe I mentioned earlier.

All the tracks are fun, but standout tracks are the nasty and short “Doomsday Hammer”, galloping “Thirteen Burials” and “Dried Blood (The Heretic Confession)”, the album’s longest most varied track, containing sneering d beat, blast beats and thick grooves.  In all, Above Lords, Below Earth is a solid romp of an album from a veteran band that I will be checking out more often.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 15th, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory