Untimely Demise
City of Evil

Originally self released last year, Sonic Unyon has re-released the debut full length album from Saskatoon’s Untimely Demise in order to catch the apparent tail end of the the retro thrash revival.

While I have never really dug the current explosion of throwback thrash I have enjoyed some of the bands that mix a little thrash with some more modern and sterner elements like Skeletonwitch, Hemoptysis, early 3 Inches of Blood and such, and luckily Untimely Demise fits right in there with those bands; thrash backbone, a dash of NWBHM, some melodic death metal and some harsher Kreator -ish rasps, and the whole thing chock full of riffs.

Though only clocking in at 32 minutes and 7 songs, there’s enough solid music here to keep your interest and there’s a feral energy as well as a retro gloss that mixes into something a little more than a mere trend hopping retro thrash act. Opener “Virtue in Death” pretty much sets the tone for the other 6 songs with a galloping thrash riffs flocked with enough melody and solo work to make it a little more than a simple throwback. “Hunting Evil” opens with a classic bay Area riff and some nifty shreddage at 1:15 and 3:30 in. And while some may think the abundance of solos in most of the tracks are a bit indulgent, I found them to be not only well placed and played, they add a nice dash of energy to the songs, that typically rely on archaic thrash structures.

The album’s mid section features the two longest and more varied tracks in the title track and “Unmaker, both over 5-minutes long. The former has a nice chorus of sorts, while the latter initially hints at a epic ballad before delivery some stern, mid paced thrash riffage and Matt Cuthbertson mixing in some more traditional vocals in with his rasp . “Forger of Belief” gets back to a more direct, high octane tone,  while  “Streets of Vice” gives us a pure, classic thrash pace and hue.

The album closes with “Bloodsoaked Mission” a thunderous example of the bands modern yet retro take on thrash, with polished solos and melodies bouncing in and out of the cantankerous thrash effortlessly.  Overall a nice little find by Sonic Unyon, that should appease a wide cross section of fans, especially thrash fans old and new.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
October 17th, 2011


  1. Commented by: GrandAeon

    You spelt “steel” wrong I think.

    Either way, that’s a kickass album!

  2. Commented by: GrandAeon

    And I spelled “spelled” wrong I think.

    Either way, I’m a fucking genius!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu