The physical reissue of this 2017 digital only release from this Norwegian symphonic black metal band caught my eye as it features Clemens Wijers of Carach Angren doing the symphonic/orchestral arrangements.

And boy is this fucking good! Its definitely got a bit of a theatrical/dramatic Carach Angren vibe, with Wiljers rendering some superbly rousing strings and horns, and it also has a heavy Dimmu Borgir  and Grief of Emerald influence. It’s superbly produced ( it took 3 years to write and record), viciously delivered (This isn’t wispy, atmospheric, symphonic black metal, this has real teeth) and is one of the better symphonic black metal albums I’ve heard lately, and that’s saying something.

Varskrik gets right to it with  stunning twelve minute opener, “Karsten og Draugen” which sets the bars super hight for the next 6 tracks, but luckily they all deliver. Notably second track blistering , “Dauning”, varied marches of “Sjøormen”, downright seething majesty of “Delidegasten”,  sheer bombastic ferocity of “Blikkestille Vann” and menacing stomp of “Skogen”. There really isn’t a weak song amid  the 7 lengthy numbers.

There is little respite, no interludes or intros, just top notch, bombastic regal salvos of symphonic mayhem. The nearest thing is title track, which has just a few moments of slower orchestral/choral introspective, but they are short-lived and soon blown away by complete bombastic devastation.

I’m surprised these guys haven’t released anything since this sole album, a couple of members are in a few minor bands like Gravesang and Iskald, but otherwise this is some young blood that’s got some amazing talent and potential to be a real player in the Norwegian black metal scene. Killer stuff!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
March 12th, 2021


  1. Commented by: F.Rini

    Erik- this review is excellent. I friggin love this album. I remember reading the promo info and it said whether a follow-up is written is still undecided at this point. Hopefully not a 1 and done band.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP
  • Kólga - Black Tides
  • Aborted - Vault of Horrors
  • Memento Mori - Memento Mori
  • Malphas - Portal
  • Hideous Divinity - Unextinct
  • Exhorder - Defectum Omnium
  • Obscura Qalma - Veils Of Transcendence EP
  • Stiriah - Portal