Various Artists
Wizards of Gore: A Tribute to Impetigo

Impetigo were considered by many to be the kings of true underground death metal when they broke up in 1993. This band played a large role in furthering the expansion of the underground during the tape trading days of old. They also remain a huge influence on our current international death and gore metal scene.

The day has come when even a band as relatively obscure as Impetigo gets their own tribute CD. Wizards of Gore contains renditions of a large cross section of Impetigo’s classic tracks performed by 28 of the world’s best underground gore grind and death metal acts. This disc is a great way to hear Impetigo songs that are generally faster, heavier and have better production than the original versions. Additionally Wizards of Gore is an excellent introduction to some seriously underground bands. Essentially unheard of acts like Vampiric Motives, Lymphatic Phlegm, and Morbid Savouring sit next to veteran acts such as Deceased, Exhumed and Mortician. If you’re into brutal death metal there isn’t anything on this comp that will disappoint.

The standout moments are the tracks by Murder Corporation, Blood Duster, Machetazo, and Deepred. Beyond just the music, the illustrations that grace the cover and back tray are great as well. Another nice touch is the inclusion of Steveo from Impetigo’s 1993 farewell message to the underground and excellent liner notes by seasoned metal journalist Kurt Hubert. Kurt takes you back in time to his experience seeing the band live, shooting photos of the infamous Steveo live puke attack and much more. To sum it all up, it doesn’t matter if you have the slightest idea who Impetigo were or if you’re a diehard fan. Wizards of Gore is a truly great compilation that will satisfy anyone who likes their death metal ugly, bloody and just plain mean.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jonathan Canady
April 10th, 2001


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing