Nie nas widzę

Once upon a time in Olsztyn, Warmia-Masuria 2017 a band was formed by multi-instrumentalist Lasota and thus Varmia was born. Named assumingly because of the historical region of the same name in Northern Poland. I reviewed their fantastic EP Prolog here and my reaction to that album was you, constant reader, need to hear this. Whether my advice was taken is ultimately moot, but I’m here; the guy with a keyboard to tell you that Nie nas widzę is the blessed child of Prolog. I use the word blessed loosely but, the fact that this album needs your immediate attention remains. Clocking in at 1:09:25 it seems like it would be an oppressive listen, but it is not. I am reminded of Nokturnal Mortum’s excellent Weltanschauung album and the way they would go from soulful and beautiful tracks in between the heavy ones. It gave the album a unique pacing and Varmia have used that formula to punishing effect here.

Beginning with the instrumental “I” Varmia prepare you for what’s to come before “Sva” begins the lightning assault, with furious blast beats and thrashing controlled chaos. “Agre” is the first single and it’s another crushing track like a broadsword to the chest. However, it’s after the instrumental “II” that my personal favorite track comes rumbling in like an armored column “Kad saule Div” is a fucking monster of a track that will go down wonderfully in a festival setting this summer, I’m sure. Its followed by “Swaixtan” which is another rolling thunder, brutal beatdown. It takes “III” to calm things down before “Dies Tremor” and “End” propel the album towards the final tracks “IV” the final instrumental before second single “Daina 4” and “Afterglow” completes this saga. Prolog is already on my EP of the year list so it makes perfect sense that Nie nas widzę will be pushing its way into the top of the pile come 2024, as well.

Having said that, the album benefits from amazing production that allows each instrument to shine through. I’ll be recommending this to everyone, as it’s a blistering release for fans of Drudkh, Nokturnal Mortum, Negură Bunget, Arkona (Rus) and Kouta (which, if you haven’t investigated them, you really need to). I think it’s already out so what are you waiting for?


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jeremy Beck
July 27th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death