Terminal Redux

Vektor have been around since 2003 and are defined as progressive thrash with sci-fi elements. I never heard them until 2015, but this past year picked up all 3 of their outstanding albums.  2009 Black Future and the 2011 follow-up Outer Iisolation are great starting points. I agree with their musical description and they are so much more. They also combine high intensity blast beats, alongside some Voivod inspired sections, that permeate through rhythm sections.  Earache signed Vektor several years back and reissued both albums. Vektor have developed and crafted their sound with care and purpose culminating with what may be contender for album of the year, Terminal Redux. The only troublesome thing I had was finding all 3 of their CDs and Vektor hail from the US. Due to no metal record stores I’m always shopping online, but not finding their newest from a US distro is troublesome. UK’sEarache Records must have some distro problems how. Regardless find their albums!

Terminal Redux incorporates some death metal influences which Vektor have slowly been doing with their releases, the increase in the blast beats on this album, makes this one of the most intense releases for 2016. Opening with the  9+ minute “Charging the Void” is the smartest move by any band this year. It’s the best song of the year. Guitar melodies to die for, brutal thrashing and vocals with more death metal influences while David DiSanto still retaining his original raspy vicious thrash vocals. And I swear Blake Anderson inhaled 10 monster energy drinks prior to recording. The high intensity blasting on this track and throughout the album are some of the finest and most punishing all year.

Not only does “Charging the Void” contain memorable riffs, from Erik Nelson they have Frank Chin providing terrific audible bass lines which translates to more heaviness.  The ending finale to this song has a catchy chorus, entrenched in a groove before bursting into the Holy Shit moment. Female Vocals. Ms Maddox and Ms Fiki provide some haunting beautiful choral stylized vocals creating ambience and atmosphere during this part which erupts into a crushing blast while their vocals are over the blast then David comes in with his raspy death/thrash snarl. This song is extraordinary. The ladies return at the album closer, the 13+ minute “Recharging the Void”.

This album is long, at 75 minutes trust me it never feels long. Vektor are original and each song has its own special uniqueness. Nothing was rushed, no filler, only killer!  In the future, when crafting such a lengthy album, it should be released as a 2 cd and 2 LP release.  This preserves the sound better.

Terminal Redux has sci-fi inspired brutal off kilter thrash with well-placed death metal ideas.  Vektor are continuing to redefine the genre and are excelling at leaving their competition in the dust. A fantastic production and well-designed album cover and booklet are the icing on the cake.  The album cover reminds me of Thresholds from Nocturnus.   Regardless, Buy or Die a 1000 Deaths!!!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
October 12th, 2016


  1. Commented by: Tacocat

    Got my copy off amazon the day it was released.

  2. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    one of my favourite albums of the year.

  3. Commented by: Ace Barker

    Yeah uhhhh 75 minutes is long.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory