Visceral Throne
Those Who Have Fallen Beyond the Grace of God EP

Based on the cover and album title, I was fully expecting some black metal here. But of course, being on Comatose Music, you know exactly what this is. Some brutal slamming death metal from the depths of Indiana.

This is the band’s first release since 2012’s Omnipotent Asperity, a release I since picked up based on this EP, and a release that made some waves in the brutal USDM scene, despite its crappy snare drum sound. Well, there’s good news and bad news. The bad news? The awful snare drum sound is back, sounding like  the recent video of  Mike Portnoy on the Hello Kitty drum set . The good news? Everything else is fucking balls out brutal as hell, and adds to Comatose’s solid run in 2015 (Kraanium, Dysentery, Abhorrent Deformity, Incinerate). 

The EP is 5 tracks; an intro ( the title track, boooooo), 3 original songs and a cover of “Colossal Vortex” originally by Columbia’s  Internal Suffering.The three new songs continue from Omnipotent Asperity, having a heavy Suffocation influence with some Texas slam and west coast tech death thrown in for good measure. The three main tracks, “Father”, personal favorite “The True Sin” and “Indulgences” avoid the thematic misogyny gore and slop of most slam, but the music certainly carries on the style with aplomb. Big, heaving slams, some twiddly stuff and a few melodic solos make all three tracks a satisfyingly heavy listen, snare drum not withstanding.

Though I’ve heard of and reviewed Internal Suffering releases, the closing cover song didn’t jump out at me as a cover song, blending in with the other 3 songs perfectly and delivering a massive groove to end the EP on a particularity heavy note. Hopefully, this is a teaser for a upcoming full length that’s less than 3 years away AND has a different snare drum sound. if Adversarial can do it, these guys can.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 4th, 2015


  1. Commented by: Shovel Slayer

    That snare is unbelievable

  2. Commented by: Matt

    oh fuck me that is the worst snare i’ve ever heard

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock