Where Fate Lies Unbound EP

Wow. This is REALLY good. A self released EP from  Wisconsin based symphonic black metal band, usually would not set my expectations very high, but on their debut effort Warseid has blown me away with this downright epic 4 song EP.

Though only 4 songs, the release is still 30 minutes long with songs ranging from 5- 11 minutes and each song is  a simply killer example of symphonic, epic black metal done right. The bands that immediately come to mind is Carach Angren  and underrated, ahead of their time US act  Scholomance . The synths (and excellent clean singing) of Joseph Meland are the EP focal point with a progressive bu still sweeping, majestic sound, but not a continual bombastic assault- its very restrained and classical sounding. And that tempered sound runs throughout the release, as the serpentine time change filled riffs are never a pure bombast, but a clever labyrinthine sound (where the Scholomance sound comes in, along with the raspy vocals of Logan Smith).

Opener “Shackles Through Sand” is a perfect example of the majestic restraint of Warseid, around 1:40 you brace for a bombastic salvo, but instead, the band goes in the other direction with acoustics and clean vocals. But that epic pay off does occur but with a simply killer symphonic march around 3 minutes in, that’s reminds  Holst’s “Mars” , the song then rounds out with yet more Scholomance-y chaotic orchestration and riffs. Second track,”Frost Upon Embers” is a controlled mid paced, stuttering track and  delivers an awesome metallic symphonic jig around a minute in  as well as some rousing violins into the mix and another synth laden climax at around for minutes that to just  die for, that is bombastic as hell.

“The Vengeance Pact” is initially a steady, complex track that puts the nail in the Scholomance sound, but carries a weary, almost wandering in the desert-like, somber undertone  with the synths before the 11 minute closer “Farewell” wraps things up. The track start as an acoustic, well sung  somber ballad before a rousing rock riff kicks in a 3:40 and the rest of the song deliver everything from an epic folky  flute/violin  section, a stern black metal expulsion and an perfectly played eventual acoustic/symphonic  close out.

The whole affair is awesomely produced, well packaged and ready for a label to snatch up now and if they band can kick out these kind of brilliant tunes for an entire album, I’ll be very much looking forward to anything else these guy release. Bravo.



[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 24th, 2012


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP
  • Kólga - Black Tides
  • Aborted - Vault of Horrors
  • Memento Mori - Memento Mori
  • Malphas - Portal
  • Hideous Divinity - Unextinct
  • Exhorder - Defectum Omnium