Because You're Worthless


And so begins “Upon Your Mountains of Flesh My River of Life Shall Flow” the opening track from Australia’s Wretch, a grindcore band featuring Duncan Beard, former drummer for doom act Futility, and this is a hell of a departure from that project.

And as you’d expect any grindcore from Australia to sound like, there is a heavy Blood Duster influence, and while the first track’s title seems to initially indicate a more serious, intellectual affair, it soon devolves into typical grindcore affair with songs like “Cuntopsy”, “Tornado of Shit”, “Touched by an Angle Grinder”, “Shitcunt”, “Shitshovel” and “I Cum darkness”.The 17 bursts have all the grindcore tropes from across the spheres of major grindcore on display ; short songs that mix beefy grooves, punky blasts,dual vocals,  humorous titles, samples (the ones that start “PRBD” and “Diseased Words” being particularly humorous), obsession with shit, etc. Wretch do it all well, with a production and guitar tone that’s neither a Rotten Sound buzz or a more raw early Napalm Death sound, but somewhere in between.

It’s hardly a ground breaking grindcore album, but that’s not why you listen to grindcore and bands with song titles like “Nerdgasm”, “Mincest” or closer “I Cum  Darkness” (that HAS to be on a band T shirt some point)  is it? You listen to rage and groove, and tracks like “Cuntopsy” and “Nerdgasm” certainly do so, even with some catchy flair. Good, fun, standard grindcore. Check it out.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by E. Thomas
March 27th, 2014


  1. Commented by: Luke_22

    Sounds cool, I’ll check it out. The good news about Australian grind is Captain Cleanoff are finally releasing their second album soon. Symphonies of Sickness is a classic in my book.

  2. Commented by: Luke_22

    Symphonies of Slackness I meant!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cianide - Unhumanized EP
  • Abhomine - Proselyte Parasite Plague
  • Porta Nigra - Schöpfungswut
  • Abigail WIlliams - Walk Beyond the Dark
  • Suicide Silence - Become the Hunter
  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach
  • Marrasmieli - Between Land and Sky
  • Infirmity - Descendants of Sodom