A Hope For Home
In Abstraction

A Hope For Home‘s last record, Realis was a decent, if slightly whiny visage of shimmery Christian post-rock. So here they are with album number three, and it’s a vast, beautiful improvement that’s on par with HandsGive Me Rest — as far as gorgeous, introspective Christian metal goes.

Now that almost everyone has left or is currently hammering furiously on the keyboard with an anti-Christian lash, I’ll proceed.

As with most post-rock, the seven longer songs (5-9 minutes) that comprise In Abstraction are full of delicate acoustic lulls and crescendos of hefty lurching riffs, but with A Hope For Home, it’s all glossed with a tangible (at least to Christians I imagine) sense of upward looking grace and truly emotional heft. And overall the songwriting, dynamics and depth of the material has improved greatly from a so-so Christian band to a truly evocative post-rock group that simply happen to be Christian.

This is evident immediately with opener “Calm” and second track “Out of Ruin, Misery”, two of the more striking tracks in the genre I’ve heard in quite some time — regardless of faith.  “Calm” gets right to it with an impressive Isis-ian lope and bellow that shows that the band has added a little oomph to their sound from The Everlasting Man. The delicate bridge about 1:45 in is simply gorgeous and its brief clean vocal section is perfectly placed and implemented. “Out of Ruin, Misery” has a similarly stunning moment about 5:05 in that’s just a killer rumbling riff and transition to a more elegant clean section.

That song bleeds into “Firewind”, a more expected softer track that starts a four song trek into the more introspective. The beautiful elements in the more  hymnal quartet of “Tides” and “The House Where You Were Born” and “Weave” transcend into much more personal and peaceful realms — with only the occasional mountainous bursts. It’s all admittedly a bit of a lull, but wrought with emotion. The the 9-minute epic closure, “Everything that Rises Must Converge”, ends the album with the same brilliant mix of clarity and heft as the opening two tracks. It actually starts with a rending somber acoustic section that could be lifted from a Mono track, before the song explodes into a melancholic metallic post-rock eruption that is truly captivating and comes across as a moving, heartfelt plea to the listener.

The three more ‘metal’ tracks alone make this worth while, and the added tracks of more delicate atmospheric shimmery moments just add a little grace to the proceedings. If these guys weren’t Christian, they would be having the same reception as Iron Thrones did a couple of years ago. To me they put off the same dynamic and hues. Highly recommended for the more open minded metal fans who enjoyed last year’s Junius CD, but who are in need of a little more positive balance in their listening habits.


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
January 25th, 2012


  1. Commented by: Jordan Itkowitz

    you mentioned Iron Thrones and Junius in your closing remarks so I will definitely be checking this out

  2. Commented by: david

    When you said album number two did you mean Realis? Because that’s album number 2. In abstraction is #3

  3. Commented by: E. Thomas

    fixed. thx

  4. Commented by: David

    I forgot to mention this, solid review!

  5. Commented by: demise

    Please replace “christians” with “hate mongering child molestors” since that’s what they really are

  6. Commented by: gabaghoul

    Eh I dunno, Hate-Mongering Child Molestor Post Rock is kind of a mouthful. No pun intended.

  7. Commented by: Jesse Wolf

    Some positive tunes can’t hurt. This band sounds sweet def checking them out.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu