Graves at Sea
Documents of Grief

Arizona’s Graves at Sea have been suffocating fans with their charred funeral doom for several years now, though their 2003 self-released debut EP, the four-song Documents of Grief, sold out immediately and has been the stuff of legend ever since. Lovers of all things doom (and Pentagram, naturally!), Bay Area label 20 Buck Spin re-releases it to spread the dark word about one of America’s finest doom acts.

“Red Monarch” is a fuzzy paean to depression, with guitarist Nick Phit and bassist Roger Williams tapping into the primeval sludge of the ages. Phit’s soloing gives latitude for making Black Sabbath or even Pentagram references, though his interplay with Williams is a mind-meld lockstep that’s delivered with dry sincerity. “Black Bile” recalls old Grief, as Nathan Misterek’s tortured vocals and zombie noises conjure a swirling chaos in slo-mo when the guitars seem to decelerate just enough to let him jump on for another verse. Though the ransacked melodies of “Wormwood” are wont to align themselves with classic Sleep, the tune’s moldering nuance of an absinthe-fueled afterlife lingers on every measure of music. Like a stripped-down Cathedral cut (circa Forest of Equilibrium), “Praise the Witch” resembles follow similar paths in slowing down halfway through to let the chordal immensity loiter a bit longer.

Wresting doom’s elemental reverberations fluently from their instruments, the band continues to realize their own distinction with their Southern Lord single, their split with NoCal’s Asunder, and their forthcoming album, due to drop later this year. Unlike other bands who finally find their signature sound after several albums of experimental welter, Graves at Sea seem to have nailed their karma with this fabulous first release.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Chris Ayers
June 22nd, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death