Swedish metal powerhouse AMON AMARTH has uploaded the brand new song “Guardians of Asgaard” to its MySpace page. The track will appear on the band’s impending new album, Twilight of the Thunder God, which will see a September 30, 2008 North American release via Metal Blade Records. Check it out now at this location.

Twilight of the Thunder God was recorded at Fascination Street Studio in Örebro, Sweden. The album will feature 10 ravaging tracks of AMON AMARTH’s menacing battle metal replete with swarming riffs and searing percussion that provides a monolithic backdrop for vocalist Johan Hegg’s wracked howls and lyrics rife with Nordic mythology. Known for seamlessly combining the key attributes of death, black and power metal to create “fantasy-fueled sonic mayhem”, AMON AMARTH (Elven-speak for “mountain of doom” in Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings) has eclipsed its previous efforts with Twilight of the Thunder God, creating an album that places the band amongst metal’s elite.

AMON AMARTH just completed work on a commanding music video for the album’s title track. The clip was filmed on the old Viking site, Jomsborg, home of the Jomsvikings in Wolin, Poland, with the Polish team Group 13 and director Dariusz Szermanowicz. An advance look at the Twilight of the Thunder God video can be viewed via a promo trailer at this location. The song, which is also available for streaming on the band’s MySpace page, features a guest guitar solo by CHILDREN OF BODOM guitarist Roope Latvala.

Twilight of the Thunder God features several additional high-profile guest appearances including Entombed singer L.G. Petrov (on ‘Guardians of Asgaard’) and Finnish cello metal band Apocalyptica (a guest appearance on ‘Live For The Kill’).

The final track listing for Twilight of the Thunder God is as follows:

1.) Twilight of the Thunder God
2.) Free Will Sacrifice
3.) Guardians of Asgaard
4.) Where is Your God?
5.) Varyags of Miklagaard
6.) Tattered Banners and Bloody Flags
7.) No Fear for the Setting Sun
8.) The Hero
9.) Live for the Kill
10.) Embrace of the Endless Ocean

In support of Twilight of the Thunder God, AMON AMARTH has announced a fall, 2008 North American headlining tour. The scheduled 3 week trek will kick off on October 1 at the House of Blues in Anaheim, CA. Support on the AMON AMARTH tour will be provided by Helsinki folk-metal act Ensiferum, Austrian blackened death metal band Belphegor and Tampa, Florida melodic death metal troupe The Absence.

Following the completion of the North American headlining tour, AMON AMARTH will embark on a month-long European tour as hand-picked support for thrash metal titans Slayer and the band’s “Unholy Alliance Chapter III” tour. Also appearing on the tour will be Mastodon and Trivium.

Metal Blade has launched a special multi-media website to advance Twilight of the Thunder God. The website features a video diary from the studio and regular installments of an AMON AMARTH “comic strip” featuring the band, which will later see print as one piece. The comic is being penned by well-known artist Lucio Parrillo (known for his cover art and character design for video games and role play games such as Forgotten Realms, Eberron, Magic, Hecatomb, etc.), is based upon Twilight of the Thunder God and includes “everything a fine bloodshed is supposed to have.” Check out the site now at this location.

AMON AMARTH features Johan Hegg (vocals), Johan Söderberg (guitar), Olavi Mikkonen (guitar), Ted Lundström (bass) and Fredrik Andersson (drums).