PESTILENCE: Legendary Progressive Tech Metallers To Release New Full-Length

Legendary progressive tech metallers, PESTILENCE, will release their sixth full-length to North American masses on July 19, 2011 via Mascot Records. Titled Doctrine, the 11-track long player was recorded and mixed at Woodshed Studio in southern Germany with vocalist/guitarist by Patrick Mameli, Yuma van Eekelen and Victor Bullok (Triptykon, Dark Fortress) and offers up a torrent of thought-provoking lyrics, dissonant chords, complex rhythm patterns and low-tuned riffs. While not a “concept album” in the traditional sense, the record is largely based around the various ways humanity often suffers under the burden of religion and politics. “I always put a lot of effort in the lyrics,” comments vocalist/guitarist Patrick Mameli. “I never felt the need to write ‘gore’ lyrics, like so many other bands do. I am aware of what is going on in the world and I have the feeling that I have something to say about it.”

Check out Doctrine‘s Marko Saarelainen cover art HERE.

Doctrine Track Listing:

01. The Predication
02. Amgod
03. Doctrine
04. Salvation
05. Dissolve
06. Absolution
07. Sinister
08. Divinity
09. Deception
10. Malignant
11. Confusion
PESTILENCE started in 1986 and were initially influenced by American and German thrash. By the time of their second album however, 1989’s Consuming Impulse, the band had developed its own brand of brutal death metal. In the years that followed, PESTILENCE became one of the prime bands in the international death metal scene. The group toured relentlessly, further honing their skills and absorbing outside influences. This inevitably lead to 1993’s timeless Spheres full-length, on which founding member Mameli combined his well-loved death metal sound with a new musical passion: fusion. The album was an artistic triumph, but was also many years ahead of its time. In 1994 PESTILENCE disbanded and Mameli withdrew from the music scene.

The band announced its comeback in 2008. Any possible skepticism was blown away when, in 2009, new album, Resurrection Macabre, hit streets. PESTILENCE‘s still-loyal fan-base was treated to a production that had all the classic ingredients, but showcased even more musicianship than before. The international lineup consisted of singer/guitarist Mameli, bassist Tony Choy, drummer Peter Wildoer and guitarist Patrick Uterwijk. Following its release, the band toured Europe, the US and South America, playing for old and new fans alike. “The magic was there again,” says Mameli, looking back.

Never a band to rest on its proverbial laurels, PESTILENCE returns with Doctrine. Dominated by the eight-string guitar work of Mameli and Uterwijk, songs burn with brutal, low-edged sound that sets a new standard in extreme metal. “The eight-string guitar opened a lot of new doors for us,” says Mameli. “It gives us lots of new musical options and allows us to make the music sound more brutal than ever before. At the same time, it forced me to sing in a higher pitch, because I didn’t want to get my vocals in the way of the low-tuned guitar parts. It was a blessing in disguise. My vocals sound more intense and manic than before.”

Doctrine features a partly new lineup that is entirely Dutch again. Obscura bassist Jeroen Paul Thesseling, who was already around during the Spheres days, rejoins the fold in addition to new recruit, 23-year-old drummer Yuma van Eekelen, who is also making his name as a member of The New Dominion. “It was partly out of idealism that I returned in 2008 with an international lineup,” Mameli recalls. “It was a great experience, but it was very hard to really work together due to the distance and time. For instance, we never had the possibility to practice on a regular basis. We do now. We exchange ideas, go out together and tell each other which cool albums to check out. Just like in the old tape-trader days. It’s great. PESTILENCE finally feels like a real band again.”

To check out the songs “Sinister” and “Salvation” off Doctrine, visit THIS LOCATION.

To check out a video interview with Thesseling, who talks with De Bassist at length about his expert use of his seven-string, fretless bass, point your browser HERE.