The Switch to Turn Off Mankind

Lost in the current retro thrash revival is the fact that Norway’s Audiopain have been chugging along and kicking out 10 plus releases since 1998, two EP/splits just last year, and their latest 6 track offering, is arguably the most pure throwback and raw of all the so called current thrash revivalists.

Whole promoted as a full -length album, the measly 26 minute running time comes across as more of an EP, but in that 26 minutes you get 6 decent length tracks of pure old school thrash heavy metal, that never comes across as a forced homage, but more a dug up, dusted off and resurrected 1984 band more akin to Possessed, early Metallica, early Slayer and even the very beginnings of Death.

The gritty, almost sloppy style is pure old school, high tops and denim, with a dash of spikes and Satan. Mixing the German drive and American energy, the tracks are primal, simple and basically similar in pace and gait, all layered with Sverre Dæhli’s unusual, slightly higher pitched shout/scream.

To these ears, Audiopain are a studio knob twist and blast beat away from black/thrash (Nifelheim, Gospel of the Horns) as the title track hints at, but manage to keep things in the 80’s with the delivery of tracks like “Hellbound”, “Holy Toxic” and “Cobra Dance”, which will definitely appeal to old timers and pure thrash fans, but I’m not sure beyond that.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
February 29th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu