Corpus Mortale
A New Species of Deviant

So the recent Willowtip/Neurotic releases such as Sickening Horror and Ulcerate have produced some absolutely mind numbingly superb technical death metal, but with Corpus Mortale, the results are far simpler, chunkier and slightly less impressive, but solid for what it is.

I actually remember hearing this Danish band a few years ago on the Succumb to the Superior EP, and that style hasn’t changed with their third full length album. Nothing spectacular but a decent release of Euro styled death metal that seem to take the Belgian/Shiver Records style of chunky groovy death metal (Ordeal, Welkin, Moker, Fleshmould, Neverlight Horizon, Battalion, etc) and throw in a dash of Iniquity-ish complexity.

The results are listenable and enjoyable, if far from groundbreaking. Corpus Mortale’s beefy tones and deep vocals have the occasional technical flourish, but its nothing too amazing, as the band is far better suited to a slower, more churning lumber (“Scorched”. “Devoid of Compassion”) or steady blast and groove (“Dehumanized”, “Postmortem Rape”, “Cold Earth”, “Erosion of the Flesh”, “Shallow Graves”), and as you can tell lyrically, Corpus Mortale are pretty old school in their lyrical approach.

If you need a break from the completely batshit insane technically of death metal, Corpus Mortale would be a good place to start as it’s a stout if unspectacular effort from a band that isn’t trying to break the mould, just making sure it keeps getting used.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
January 8th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu