Crown Magnetar
Everything Bleeds

This summer, two major deathcore heavyweights will be vying for your attention. On one hand, is Signs of the Swarm and the subtly evolved and technical Amongst the Low & Empty. A still brutal, but intricate, deft evolution of modern Deathcore.

On the other hand, is the pure fucking beatdown of Colorado’s Crown Magnetar and their second album, Everything Bleeds. An utterly pulverizing, rip your throat up, stamp on your dick, curb-stomp a priest, and then fuck your mom take on deathcore.

This is where I usually break down the album a little bit, highlight a few songs or personal favorites, talk about the production or sometimes even gripe about some minor issues with an album. But to be honest- there’s not much point, as Everything Bleeds just knocks your teeth out from start to finish, and literally leaves no time to react or absorb.

Clocking in at barely over 30 minutes, the album starts with “Nail Funeral” and ends with “Prismatic Tomb” and while the band does have a few moments of ‘atmospherics’ (i.e. some background keyboards or short intro here and there, largely on those two opening and closing tracks and massive “The Level Beneath”) almost everything in between is just a complete and total bludgeoning (as are the aforementioned tracks, don’t be fooled by me using the words atmospheric or keyboards).

But the above numbers as well as the likes of “Hex Ov Hate”, “Everything Bleeds”, “Unholy Neck Stab”, “The Killing Stone”, “Only The Spine Remains” and “Despised from Seed” will arguably go down as 2023’s most intense pure old school deathcore. The breakdowns (and blasts for that matter) are just fucking ridiculous, especially when paired with the vocals of Dan Tucker (arguably one of the most imposing vocalists in the genre) and the clinically brutal production/mix/master of Mike Sahm.

Bonus points the for the upped levels of utterly hateful blasphemy as well, in the lyrics and artwork ( another winner from Calean Stokkermans) as well.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 26th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness