Lost Torso Found

Yet more stomping, grizzly and of course brutal death metal from Italy’s Permeated Records. I’ve been fond of this release since its availability and have often found myself returning to it on a regular basis. It’s certainly a good alternative to the big guns in the death metal over ground (who themselves have been on fine form the past few years) but it shows that for a style of music that was considered all but dead at the start of this century, there is plenty of life and plenty of passion in death metal.

Much like recent release from label mates, Putridity, this is for those obsessive types that have an insatiable appetite for DM, and need a regular fix of something overtly brutal. Unlike Putridity, Degrade are far defter in their song writing, mixing in plenty of variation in their riffs, song structures and vocals (or vokills if you have to be that brootal), as Manne displays an impressive texture to his voice, even though they rarely stray the gurgling spectrum ( the few screams here and there are provided by guitarist Victor).

‘Blood Rampage,’ does as it says, it’s a bloodthirsty romp of crashing and blasting with of course plenty of chug (which I love) semi-hardcore breakdowns (don’t let that put you off) and grizzly vocal spewing (all adjectives so fit for DM!!!). The pounding title track features more fine riffs and plenty of unhinged blasting from drummer Berto, who throughout puts a tight and above all, dexterous performance.

Simply put, death metal addicts will eat this up willingly and ask for more, those uninterested won’t be pulled in, nuff said.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Benjamin DeBlasi
February 11th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Bodom After Midnight - Paint the Sky with Blood EP
  • Morbid Breath - In the Hand of The Reaper EP
  • Becerus - Homo Homini Brutus
  • Zaratus - In The Days of Whore
  • Journey Into Darkness - Multitudes of Emptiness
  • Dalriada - Őszelő
  • Dyskinesia - Micturating Deposits of Grit Through the Urinary Tract EP
  • Phlebotomized - Pain, Resistance, Suffering EP
  • Silver Talon - Decadence and Decay
  • Detritivor - Scattered Remnants
  • The Plague - Within Death
  • Vreid - Wild North West
  • Throne - Pestilent Dawn
  • Obsolete - Animate/Isolate
  • Demiser - Through the Gate Eternal