Apocalyptic Visions

I’m sure this release is more in the realms of fellow scribe Grimulfr, however, in an attempt to broaden my black metal horizons, I made myself listen to and review the debut from this German spike and corpse paint clad trio.

There’s nothing remotely original going on here, but it is spitefully done and typically grim, with a tinny, but not grating sound that plies your expected Mark/Darkthrone inspired hymns of war, anti Christianity, disdain for all life and general unpleasantness. I have heard better (almost all their Scandinavian peers) and I’ve heard worse (country mates Torch of War).

The guitar tone is brittle yet clear and the rhythm section, though light has a presence that fits within the framework of the genre. More importantly, there are some decent (if par for the course), grazing, yet everso slightly melodic, tremolo picked riffs here that will keep most black metal fans happy; “Ad Arma” (with its thrashy mid section), “Crucify (The Scum)”, restrained march of “Interitus Christianorum” with a nice classical/orchestral bridge into the blazing “Welt In Flammen” (though I could do without the air raid sirens.

More cool, dramatic Germanic orchestration starts “Possessed by Sinister Spirits” and “Spill the Blood of Christ”, breaking up the whole sense of déjà vu that permeates the last third of the album that prevents it from being more than a middle tier, competent black metal act act. No more, no less.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by E. Thomas
April 10th, 2008


  1. Commented by: swampthang

    damn bro you def write lots of reviews. do you still work with metal maniacs. nways good stuff I love german black metal bands they always slay

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cianide - Unhumanized EP
  • Abhomine - Proselyte Parasite Plague
  • Porta Nigra - Schöpfungswut
  • Abigail WIlliams - Walk Beyond the Dark
  • Suicide Silence - Become the Hunter
  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach
  • Marrasmieli - Between Land and Sky
  • Infirmity - Descendants of Sodom