Grief Of War
A Mounting Crisis… As Their Fury Got Released

Here’s Prosthetic’s entry into the thrash ‘revival’, Japan’s Grief of War, and their debut offering, A Mounting Crisis…As Their Fury Got Released. Originally, the album was released through a small label in Tokyo in 2005. As expected, it’s a complete trip back to the mid 80’s, mainly paying homage to early Slayer.

Now, I know that most thrash really isn’t all that technical or real flashy in the skill dept, but Grief of War display almost none. The riffs seem generic, and drag on or are repeated for too long without any little change ups to keep them from being monotonous and the vocals are just plain bad at times, while at others they’re just kinda ‘there’.

From the opening of “Hatred Burns” (after its sample track of chaos) with it’s long winded high-end scream that reminds of Slayer’s “Angel of Death”, I knew I was in for some amateurish thrash, immediately thinking “3rd tier Slayer clone”. “Rat Race”, “Don’t Walk Away” and “Blind from the Facts” are a step in the right direction though, as they seem tighter, better constructed and have some nice riffing, even if still sounding like a Slayer cover band. “Sown by Greed” is slower, generic and sports some of those terrible vocals I spoke of prior. Album closer “The Judgment Day” tries to hit upon that slow, eerie, epic mark that is songs such as “Spill the Blood” or “Seasons in the Abyss”, but fails miserably. The rest of the album (“Distrust”, “Eternal Curse”, “Resist” and “Blood Lust”) are just disjointed, haphazard, generic and well, not good.

Grief of War could potentially be a good thrash band, but first they’ll need to branch out from their Slayer worship some (because Slayer is too obvious and way overdone) and brush up on their chops a bit. In the meantime, thrash fans can find much better new material out there from the likes of Warbringer, Hyades, Avenger of Blood or especially Death Angel.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Larry "Staylow" Owens
March 17th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain
  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide