Empty Fields and Smoke-Filled Skies EP

“FFO Oathbreaker, Fall of Efrafa, Amenra, Downfall of Gaia, etc”

Oh, you clever sons of bitches. THAT’S how you get my attention when it comes to promo emails. Heck, why not just throw in Tragedy to boot as well as, BJs, steaks, guns and the New Orleans Saints to top it off????

But unlike about 50% of promotional ‘FFO’ claims, this one hits it out of the park with this Finnish five piece, and this short but furious 3 song , 22 minute or so EP, that really does imbue all of the bands mentioned above rather well. And as s a nice topper the EP is mixed and mastered by Topon Das of Fuck the Fucts, so there’s that too..

Killer opener, “The Great Famine” sets the tone with a perfect melodic, d-beat crusty canter, a mix of deep bellows and pain-filled shrieks, and blackened crescendoes filled with bleak melodies. The second track, the EPs longest, “From Man of God to Voracious Beast” builds with post-rock patience and mood but explodes at the 3:38 mark with a nifty atmospheric blackened riff, where the Downfall of Gaia reference comes in, then it settles down into a more restrained post-metal ebb and throb. 

The last track, “A Glimpse Beyond” continues the more somber post-metal vibes, until it reaches its inevitable more black/crust peak about 6 and a half minutes in and delivers a nice Ep ending, but never quite fully delivers a truly special climax or ending to the song. Still, a band I think I will be watching as they edge towards a full-length album after a handful of splits and Eps. 

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 27th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock