Mare Cognitum
An Extraconcious Lucidity

Recommended to me by a fellow teethofthedivine forum member, Mare Cognitum‘s second release, was released back in June as a mere ‘pay what you want’ bandcamp digital download. But now, An Extraconscious Lucidity is now available as a limited CD from the band’s sole member and brain child Jacob Buczarski. But whatever format you decide to pick up, Mare Cognitum‘s sound is utterly worthwhile and like fellow solo unsigned artist Jute Gyte, a shining example of excellent productivity, creativity and artistry amid solo, independent musicians.

As its base level, Mare Cognitum play epic but organic, well produced black metal. It shares influences across many of black metal’s sub-genres including, shoegazer/Cascadian, melodic, symphonic and old school. But whatever sub-genre of black metal you call it, it’s one thing- superb. The 6 lengthy songs here spread their wings in a regal style not unlike the recent Spectral Lore releases, with an ethereal, majestic atmosphere, but I’m also reminded of early  Dissection and Emperor ( I mean the chord progression at 5:10 in opener “Collapse into Essence” is straight from “Cosmic Keys to My Creations and Times”) , New Zealand’s Arkheth and even the likes of Krallice and Wolves in the Throne Room.

But all name dropping aside, Mr. Buczarski has still created his own sound and its one he has perfected in elegant style. The overall tone is slightly rooted in the cosmos and all things space-y and universe-y but its still grounded in majestic, melodic riffs, a scattering of synths and distant rasps.  With all 6 lengthy songs, he manages to pen some truly engaging and memorable material that stacks up well against any of the signed, bigger named USBM. His ability to mix shrill, layered, tremolo picked melodies with more moody introspective ambiance is top notch without being pretentious or bordering on Liturgy levels of self inflation or more fully developed hipster shoe gazer metal, that forsakes the black metal elements.

There’s epic riffs here, there’s bite here (“Pyre of Ascendancy”), there’s stargazing beauty and melody here and throughout the album, the balance of sub-genres is always in check. No where is this more apparent than the CDs standouts “Degeneracy Pressure”  and the brilliant 9-minute closer “Pulses in Extraconscious Lucidity”, which along with Spectral Lore‘s “Duty” is one of my favorite black metal tracks of the last few years, with a main chord progression and harmony  and somber final 2 minutes to simply die for.

It’s great to see artists like this forge their own path without labels or PR companies, and by facebook, word of mouth and bandcamp, get their music out there and it be as good as anything the big label, bands and industries kick out. Bravo Mr. Buczarski. I look forward to future endeavors, especially the upcoming split with Spectral Lore, which could be truly special.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
October 26th, 2012


  1. Commented by: Adolf Oliver Fingers

    *Stares wide eyed at one word that stands out like a turd at a tit fest* “dimply”….”dimply”…..”DIMPLY”!?!?!?

  2. Commented by: gabaghoul

    it’s a typo. not all that funny

  3. Commented by: gordeth

    Nice write up. I think you described it well. I’ve been spinning this a lot lately and I’m still finding things to love about it. But, “Ergosphere” has remained my favorite track because of that beautiful drawn out melody. I’ll be keeping an eye out for that Spectral Lore split.

  4. Commented by: E. Thomas

    thanks for fixing J

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon
  • Anthropophagus Depravity - Demonic Paradise
  • Downcross - White Tower