Mors Principium Est

To see a band continue to grow and find their niche is something quite extraordinary. It’s like watching a child grow. What is even more stunning is to see this revolution come out of left field and totally catch you by surprise. This is exactly what Finnish ringleaders Mors Principium Est have done over the past five years and Liberation=Termination keeps the band at a steady pace forward.

The bands first offering Inhumanity was just a solid Bodom style Melodic Death record. It definitely showed promise, but Mors Principium Est wasn’t exactly a household name. Little did we know that this was merely the calm before the storm. Sophomore effort The Unborn comes like a flash of light and literally redefines Melodic Death Metal as a genre. Melding our beloved Swedish sound with everything from Power Metal to Techno, Mors Principium Est laid tracks that we can now say have influenced today’s up and coming acts. You know Mors when you hear it. Its undeniable, and that makes this act the success they are today.

Liberation=Termination is directly abutting to the dominating The Unborn. This record is the perfect step forward in the same path for the band. Mors Principium Est has reached the top of the mountain on this record and they know it. The speed is just retarded. I challenge listeners to find a band more precise and rapid as this band. There isn’t one. The modern aspects and entire atmosphere of this act surely makes them special.

Displaying a wide range of vocal talent, Mr. Ville Viljanen keeps his harsh raspy bark but can also bottom out some guttural madness. There are even some clean vocals thrown in here and there. Guitar players fear not, Tomy Laisto and Jarrko Kokko have absolutely ridiculous solos happening. These guys are seriously underrated guitar players. Speed and technicality is the name of the game but there is plenty of style thrown in. The main source of the bands sound and atmosphere on the past two records has came from the guitar tones.

If you have never heard Mors Principium Est it doesn’t matter if you start with The Unborn or 2007’s Liberation=Termination. Both are what this band is about and what we will continue to hear ooze out of them. Hopefully they can work there sound to keep progressing at this pace and show the metal world what inventive music means.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shane Wolfensberger
July 17th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream