Awaken the Reason

Blending hallucinatory technicality and one astonishing sense of striking melody into one sole album wrap-up is a challenge quite a wide community of bands have been undertaking over time, and it’s gotta be said that hitting each fucking minute mark with just the right balance of both elements is a uniquely gifted talent to have. Outcast brings its own take on that ever-so-wonderful mathematical equation with one dead fucking apt pull on each possible creative nerve present into that sumptuously caliginous and multi-dimensional avenue of sonic stomp. Awaken the Reason is these French blasters’ third record to date, and it ain’t no smattering of water-under-the-bridge, overweening and competitional wank-offs; it’s got some bloody strength of character and will stand the test of time for its organic and sincere chemical grandness.

”Elements” already jumps off the politically correct and juvenile bridge of reunion for the trendy yahoo skanks overpopulating the scene to bravely and shamelessly stagger on with a less than wimpy take on brutal tech death complexity. It sparks up the engines with one feverish and sharp attack, leading into the strongly applaudable ”Abysmal” that I’d identify as the cue point for melodic fervor, sounding like a reasonable mix of Gojira and Obscura influences with one bold and vicious backbone. The vocalist’s animalistic and nuanced approach works awesomely in all ranges of tone, yanking on the emotional chains just as much as on the bloodlusting ropes in this body of mine, plodding on through this batch of songs with one impressive consistency. The sharp n’quick ”A Solace From the Shade” is a catchy and mighty sweet bullet-firing piece of work that very chaotically meshes brutal death build-ups with neat-o progressive tempo shift experimentations, followed directly by what I wouldn’t have expected to be a full-on piano piece, but let me just say that this film-score-worthy and suitably dramatic trip into the root of classical ambiance that is ”Awaken the Reason -Part IV: When Dawn Brings Clarity” fits pretty damn well among this lot of songs, being a cool as fuck intro for the massively ape schizophrenia brain-kick waiting on the grill.

”Spin Angular Moments” is, hands down, my favorite track on this album, perfectly interlacing gripping melodic landscapes with stubbornly and positively bizarre tech tantrums that simply get the heart rate on a roll. ”Unspoken” is intent on heading down the no-speed-limit road of strongly savage and well- aligned build-ups. ”Isolation” is the longest track on here, and over the span of its 9 or so minutes, it throat-grabs friggin’ adamantly with its powerful wealth of emotion. The leads are of the unforgettable type, and the choruses are admittedly strong enough to make that one song another heck of a pleasant and raging highlight. ”Fallen Years” brings back the enjoyable tech jams on board, and ”What Would Be My Final Command?” has a mighty interesting collection of equally scientific parts surrounding a central zone of splendidly inspiring soloing. ”Man’s Last Failure” is an epic roller coaster of razor sharp punches that classify it as one rad and original piece that charges straight into a final cut that goes even further into rather libertine jam-like breakouts that truly showcase Outcast‘s own gene in that wide family of tech brutal death enthusiasts quite daringly, firing up my zealous anticipations for a fourth album of this stupefyingly fucking mint type of songwriting.

Toss this one right at the top of the totem pole. It’s earning its spot up there with every waking moment of each of its eleven tracks and may cause one absurdly overblown craving for additional helpings.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Noch
April 17th, 2012


  1. Commented by: gabaghoul

    wow this is really impressive. I prefer the more melodic/progressive bits to the more monochrome djent material but it’s all very well integrated. looking fwd to digging into the whole thing, great review!

  2. Commented by: Noch

    This is the kind of album that could easily land on my year-end list. I’m a MAJOR melodic tech death addict this time around, and was in need of hearing an absolute monster in that department. Needless to say this sealed the deal. It made my week. Cheers for the feedback mate, you won’t regret giving this one a spin in full for damn sure. ;)

  3. Commented by: AARONIUS

    Their second? album “Self-Injected Reality” is awesome too. I just heard about these guys like 2 months ago. I don’t know how I missed them before that, but this is good stuff.

    They kind of remind me of a band called Coprofago, especially the vocals.

  4. Commented by: E. Thomas

    Ive tried really hard to like this more, but cant seem to get past ‘just decent’….i think its the vocals. the 7 horns 7 eyes is hitting me way harder. even the recent veil of maya is sitting better with me than this release for some reason

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain
  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon