Parasitic Skies
The Descent

Residing on the same label that has or had the likes of xRepresentx, OnexChoice, xTyrantx on its roster, there’s no surprise in what Seattle’s Parasitic Skies―despite the lack of an x in their logo―play; tough as nails, straightedge metallic hardcore.

No frills, no melodies, no trendiness. Just a beefy (no pun intended) vegan beat down that culls from the early ’90s metallic hardcore scene where bands like Earth Crisis, Turmoil, Catharsis, All Out War and such roam. Rather than power chords and breakdowns, Parasitic Skies focus on a controlled, angular form of lurching metal that has one little toe in death metals classic lope and the rest of the boot clad foot deep in hardcore’s angst fueled rage and message.

The eight short tracks blaze by with a vitriolic simplicity without trying too hard to be all overly death metal and overtly heavy as hell ― the heft truly comes naturally: The bass rumbles and the drums pound like an idling diesel as the gas is occasionally lightly pressed. The likes of “Misshapen Manifestation”, “Torche Smoke”,  “Altar of Defeat” and moody closing instrumental “Nadir” brood and lumber with a dark intensity. Rather than gang chants and chest pounding machismo to tell you their beliefs, Parasitic Skies are content to let their music speak volumes rather than parade around in baseball shirts.

While hardly a ground breaking record, I for one appreciate the direct honesty and pummeling, no nonsense sounds that Parasitic Skies represent ― even if i don’t agree with their lifestyle or message.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by E. Thomas
September 8th, 2010


  1. Commented by: gabaghoul

    vegan straightedge hardcore… what’s next, Christian black metal? ;)

  2. Commented by: xbenx

    Band rules hard, nice review chief, even nicer to name drop the almighty Catharsis.

  3. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    Catharsis are missed. Passion was NUTS.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • As I Lay Dying - Shaped By Fire
  • Creeping Death - Wretched Illusions
  • In Pain - The Sound of Death
  • Flesh Tomb - Torn From The Womb of The Sky EP
  • Infant Annihilator -  The Battle of Yaldabaoth
  • Sanguisugabogg - Pornographic Seizures EP
  • Murder Made God - Endless Return
  • Stortregn - Evocation of Light
  • Exhorder - Mourn the Southern Skies
  • Vorna - Sateet palata saavat
  • Bones - Diseased
  • Singularity - Place of Chains
  • Wormed - Metaportal EP
  • Bastard Grave - Dioramas of Human Suffering
  • Anger Machine - Trail of the Perished