After a 12 year run, Floor Jansen and her former band, After Forever, decided to call it quits. Not really sure of the reason behind it but she is now back with her new metal project, ReVamp. I am truly a fan of female-fronted metal bands like Nightwish, Lacuna Coil, Epica, Within Temptation etc… but what I don’t understand is when you start over with a fresh new project why does it have to sound almost exactly like the one you just left? Unfortunately that’s what Floor did. She brought in a bunch of session musicians and made a darker, more gothic version of After Forever. Not that she can’t hold her own, she definitely has the pipes but there is no…oomph… for a lack of a better term.

There’s nothing really here that makes me want to listen to this album again. “Here is My Hell” is probably one of the hardest tracks on here with guest vocals from ex-Orphanage grunter, George Oosthoek accompanying her. “Head up High” is another solid effort with symphonic keyboard passages from keyboardist, Joost Broek, also formerly of After Forever. The third track, “Sweet Curse”, is a nice melodic track that is also a duet with Symphony X frontman, Russell Allen. The “In Sickness Till Death do Us Part” trilogy is where she completely lost me, I applaud her for trying something that she hasn’t done before but it just fell flat. Even with Bjorn of Soilwork helping her out on Part 2, it was unnecessarily long and it didn’t really go anywhere except for me forwarding to the next track.

“Kill Me with Silence” is one of the few different tracks that has a little bit of a different tempo with the guitar and drums just hovering in the background. It shows more of Floor’s vocal talent and is backed by a very powerful chorus. “Lost Myself” also ends the album very well with just a piano and Floor’s vocals. With nothing else around to disturb the vibe here you can really tell how talented she is as a singer.

The downside of ReVamp is repetitiveness. Though there are a few sporadic moments that show the band’s creativity it’s not enough to detract from the constant repetition. Although this is ReVamp’s debut, Floor herself has been doing this for some 12 or more years. I was hoping she would be able to keep adding newer elements to her music and push herself a little further in the creative department. While it didn’t really fulfill my musical tastes, fans of After Forever might want to check this out.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Kate Wilcox
July 15th, 2010


  1. Commented by: Jodi

    I did want to hear this since I’m a fan of Floor’s, but a more gothic version of After Forever…no thanks

  2. Commented by: Erik Thomas

    Guess who is getting sent all the female fronted stuff from napalm records from now on?

  3. Commented by: mccumberv

    Hmmm, I think Draconian has the best female vocals and Wolves in the Throne’s Room Malevolent Grain album has some pretty cool girl stuff on it. I was never really a fan of the gothic female fronted stuff. I guess maybe I should go back and revisit some of it.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu