Endless Asphyxiating Gloom

Continuing the old timey, dusty death metal vibe of the label’s previous releases by Trenchrot and Omnivore, Canada’s Sabbatory are here to deliver some no nonsense old school death/thrash metal. And like this years earlier release from Morfin, the primary influence is an easy one to hear: (very)early Death.

Sure, there is lots of other old school stuff going on here from Possessed, Asphyx, Nihilist,Celtic Frost and lots of thrash and such (not surprising as Sabbatory feature es members of thrashers Besieged, who recently had their unreleased debut released by Unspeakable Axe), but once you hear the opening riff of the likes of the title track, the Leprosy-ish canter of “The Endless Pessimistic Voyage” and closer “Orbiting Obscuron”, it’s impossible not to recall either Scream Bloody Gore, Leprosy or Spiritual Healing. 

The release is only 7 songs and 32 minutes long, so it gets right to it with no fanfare or bullshit. The production is musty but not forced and the vocals of Kier Keatting are a simple gruff shout. The riffs are generally a thrashy take on death metal with a few d beat canters and old school death metal lurches (i.e “Hypnotic Regression”, “Infantasy”) and plenty of Schuldiner-esque solos thrown in. I mean just listen to the solo towards the end of “Orbiting Obscuron”.

It’s pretty simple stuff, but if you loved the aforementioned Trenchrot or Morfin albums, it is very similar in style and substance and will satiate your desire for a sound that displays death metal fetal stages very very well.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 4th, 2014


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP