Of Atavistic Fury & Visions EP

Sometimes I like my black metal delivered in epic, rangy long albums like say Kjeld’s latest offering, Harakiri For the Sky’s vast double album or Utbyrd’s majestic foray. But sometimes I like my black metal in short sharp, icy bursts, like the debut EP, from New Finnish black metal duo Sarvekas, which is a perfect little 23 minute stab of classic melodic black metal from Finland.

5 songs, no filler, no synths (well, just a few bars in “The Sacred Hour of the Hunt”), just cold, tremolo picked goodness with some very, very good moments that hint at a really good full length in the future. I hear some Istapp in the song structures and frosty, vicious melodies as well as the usual Scandinavian second wave suspects.

Standout moments include “Hexenpyre” and “Where No Man Has Trodden” , which has one of the very best melodic black metal riffs I’ve heard recently, and a song I’ll be revisiting very often for months to come. Let’s hope they can continue the momentum of this fine little EP for any future releases.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
February 26th, 2021


  1. Commented by: F.Rini

    Erik – great write-up. I friggin’ love this ep. Awesome and intricate guitar melodies. Super stuff!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • VHS - The Quest for the Mighty Riff
  • Vorna - Aamunkoi
  • Dawn of Ouroboros  - Velvet Incandescence
  • Vomitheist - NekroFuneral
  • Frozen Soul - Glacial Domination
  • Pronostic - Chaotic Upheaval
  • Nightmarer - Deformity Adrift
  • Runemagick - Beyond the Cenotaph of Mankind
  • Atavistia - Cosmic Warfare
  • Immortal - War Against All
  • Kouta - Kaarnaköydet
  • Oak - Disintegrate
  • Fires In The Distance - Air Not Meant For Us
  • Unearth - The Wretched; The Ruinous
  • Cattle Decapitation - Terrasite