Horror Vacui

I’m new to the UKs Sathamel, but based on this, the band’s impressive debut full length album, after a few demos and a live release, they look to be a killer new black death metal act rising from the UK metal scene, despite some scandal. Apparently, the band was caught stealing material from US act A Hill to Die Upon, which was attributed to former members, and thusly and appropriately, the band’s planned 2017 debut, Despair was cancelled as the band regrouped and rebounded while taking some time off.

And so with that behind them, the band (with some new members I might add) have moved on and released Horror Vacui, a killer album that imbues classic Behemoth as well as another Polish act, Hate.

Everything is here in spades for a perfect black/death assault:  punchy, beefy production, commanding death metal growls and rasps courtesy of ‘Kruk’, a sprinkling of keyboards, and a wide array of riffs that run the gamut of savage blasting and tempered menacing lopes. The perfect 40 minute, 9 song run time is chock full of awesome moments and memorable, militant riffs. From opener “Liberma Me” to almost 8 minute closer “Of Spilled Wine and Broken Glass”, the whole album is just pure blackened death satisfaction. Highlights include the aforementioned opener and closer as well as  the short punishing blast of “Raise Flame From Ash”, more controlled “A New Age of Lycanthropy”, furious “Whispers of A Husk” and regal fire and brimstone of of “Swit”. None of it really original, but delivered with a fiery confidence and skill that makes it a fine listen from start to finish.

Those enjoying Hate’s recent album, Auric Gates of Veles or Behemoth’s trio of Demigod, The Apostasy and Evangelion, then this is for you and  a triumphant comeback and response from a band that could have been essentially dead in the water after Despair fiasco.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 12th, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Sonata Arctica - Clear Cold Beyond
  • Necrocracy - Predestiny
  • Replicant - Infinite Mortality
  • Zombi - Direct Inject
  • Mastiff - Deprecipice
  • Wristmeetrazor - Degeneration
  • Lvme - A Sinful Nature
  • Chapel of Disease - Echoes of Light
  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams