Ravnenes Saga

So what if a band from Denmark mixed the happy go drinking folkish pep of Korpiklaani and the earthy, battle weary death metal heft of Amon Amarth or the first Amorphis album? You’d get Svartsot and their simple but thoroughly enjoyable debut album.

With a mix of simple, mid paced chunky death metal, deep cavernous growls (no clean vocals at all here) with a Viking hues backed by sprightly flute and bodhran drum, Svartsot deliver 11 tracks (some reworked from the bands two demos) of likeable yet heavier than usual folk metal that should tide you over until Asmegin get their act together.

Much like Korpiklaani, Svartsot aren’t about complexity or skill but rather catchy and smile inducing moments of down tuned campiness, sometimes bordering a Finntroll like canter (especially closer “Havets Plage”) with a more death metal veneer. The riffs are admittedly repetitive within the songs, but no less effective smile inducing as tracks like “Nidvisen”, “Jotunheimsfærden”, “Festen”, “Skovens Kælling” and personal favourites “Spillemandens Dåse” and “Skønne Møer” rumble and jig with mirth and ale aplomb while a couple of slower ominous tracks like “Bersærkergang” and “Hedens Døtre” are moodier and more tempered in their Viking meets folk gait.

Ravnenes Saga is hardly reinventing Viking metal or folk metal, but it does offer an immensely entertaining record that combines the frivolity of folk metal with the bit bite and girth of death metal into one solid, enjoyable release.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 21st, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP