The Reckoning

Delivering the same intense yet singularly paced style of mechanically precise black/death metal akin to Krisiun, Zyklon or even Crionics and The Amenta (without the cyber elements), Belgium’s The Reckoning (formerly known as Infernal Legion) have delivered a solid second album, that won’t change the genre, but it’s a pummeling, relentless listen.

Truthfully, I really don’t need to expand on the above paragraph as Counterblast isn’t the kind of album to either gush over or berate, but it does serve as a 39 minutes of tightly played black/death (slightly heavier on the black) metal that’s above average, (at least for its first half before the intensity wears off) in its musicianship and delivery. Drummer Jurgen Sterckx (or “Morbid”) is a steady force behind the kit and vocalist Peter Noens (both also serving in black metal act Natrach) has an ample rasp/growl, culminating in 10 tracks of blissfully blasting tenacity. No interludes, no experimentation, no mercy.

Look no further than impressively fierce opener “Downward Discipline” for the template for the rest of the album and only the first few minutes of “Hellkind” and parts of the six minute “Bleed Divine” offers any sort of reprieve with a slow menacing lurch to break up the assault from the likes of “March to Your Death”, “Heap of Wretchedness”, “Vermicular”, “Nailed to Iniquity” and closing cover of Terrorizer’s “Dead Shall Rise”.

Hardly a required listen, but an acceptable release if you need to be blasted into pieces.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
January 23rd, 2009


  1. Commented by: Stiffy

    The cover even reminds me of Zyklons logo.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death